Well known for its scenic greenery and stunning coastline, the state of Oregon is a beautiful place to visit. The best way to see all there is to see is by driving.

While at least some form of insurance is mandatory in all states, each state has their own unique set of requirements for car insurance. Whether you are new to the Beaver State or just looking to switch up your insurance, here are the basics about car insurance in Oregon.

What Are The Car Insurance Requirements In Oregon?

Every state has their own laws in place when it comes to car insurance. In Oregon, you will need the following types of car insurance on your policy to abide by state law:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage: This type of coverage exists to cover bodily injuries that might occur as a result of an accident that you cause. In Oregon, the minimum requirements for this type of insurance are:
    • $25,000 per person per accident.
    • $50,000 per accident if multiple people were injured.
  • Property damage liability coverage: If you are involved in an accident that you are at-fault for, this type of insurance will cover the damages done to another driver’s car. In Oregon, the minimum requirements for this type of insurance are:
    • $20,000 per accident.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage: This type of insurance coverage will assist you in covering the medical costs associated with a car accident you were involved in for up to 2 years following the accident. In Oregon, the minimum requirements for this type of car insurance are:
    • $15,000 per person.
  • Uninsured motorist coverage: In a perfect world, all drivers would follow the laws in their state and be properly insured, but unfortunately, that isn’t always how it goes. If you are ever in a car accident where the other driver is responsible, and he or she doesn’t have car insurance, your uninsured motorist coverage will pay for the damages. In Oregon, the minimum requirements for this type of car insurance are:
    • $25,000 per person.
    • $50,000 per car accident.

What Other Options Are There For Car Insurance In Oregon?

Since we all have different financial circumstances, everyone’s needs are different when it comes to insurance. While some people might choose to get by with the minimum requirements for car insurance in Oregon, some drivers might feel they need more coverage. If you feel like the minimum requirements for car insurance aren’t enough to meet your needs, here are some of the most common types of insurance add-ons in Oregon:

  • Comprehensive coverage: This type of insurance coverage is there for you if your car ever gets damaged due to non-accident-related causes such as bad weather, vandalism or theft.
  • Collision insurance: If you are ever in an accident where your car gets damaged by another car, this type of coverage will help pay for the damages.
  • Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP): This type of coverage is there to protect you in instances where you might you might owe more on the car than what it’s worth following an accident.
  • Rental reimbursement insurance: If your car needs to spend an extended amount of time getting repaired in the shop, this type of insurance will help you get a rental car in the meantime.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage: Unfortunately, there are a lot of drivers on the road who are not sufficiently insured. If you ever happen to get hit by a driver who is uninsured or underinsured, this type of insurance will be there to back you up when their insurance can’t cover the costs.

How Can I Get Insured If I Have A Bad Driving Record?

Shopping for car insurance can already be a tedious task, but it can be even harder if you have a bad driving record. If you are having trouble finding a company to insure you, the state of Oregon has a program called the Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans (WAAIP).

Since car insurance is mandatory in Oregon, program was set in place to make sure that every driver has access to car insurance. Keep in mind that while this program exists to help you, it tends to be more expensive, so it’s best to only use it as a last resort.

What Is The Best Way To Provide Proof Of Insurance?

It’s always a good idea to drive around with some type of proof of insurance. Oregon drivers must be able to show proof that they have met the basic minimum requirements for car insurance. The following documents are valid proofs of insurance:

  • Your current insurance card.
  • A current liability insurance binder or policy.
  • A signed letter from your insurance company or insurance agent.
  • A certificate of self-insurance from the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

You will need to have one of these documents on hand if you are ever pulled over by law enforcement for a traffic stop or when registering your car at the DMV.

To ensure that Oregon drivers are following car insurance laws, the state has implemented a random monthly check. Each month, the DMV will select a random group of drivers and ask them to provide:

  • The name of their insurance company.
  • Their insurance policy number.

The DMV will then go through the process of verifying this information with the insurance company provided. If you are selected as a part of this random check, you must respond accordingly. Failure to respond can cause a suspension of your license. Additionally, responding with false information will also get you in trouble and you will need to apply for an SR-22 for three years.

What Is An SR-22?

If you are found guilty for driving without insurance, you could be ordered to file an SR-22 with the DMV. This is a document that acts as proof of financial responsibility and guarantees that you will be legally insured for three years.

Failure to file an SR-22 once it has been ordered may result in your license being suspended.

Leave a Reply