Having car insurance is one of the many ways that we can protect ourselves on the road while driving. It is there to back us up if we get into an accident and allows us to drive with peace of mind. Most states have minimum car insurance requirements that you need in order to be a legal driver, but the state of New Hampshire isn’t one of those states.
The Granite State is one of the few states that does not require you to have any specific type of insurance. That being said, the state of New Hampshire does still require you to be financially responsible for the aftermath of accidents that you cause. For this reason, it’s in everyone’s best interest to purchase some type of car insurance just to be on the safe side.
What Types Of Car Insurance Should I Have In New Hampshire?
Car insurance is not mandatory by New Hampshire law, but if you cause an accident with another driver on the road, you will be responsible for covering the damages. Needless to say, you’re better off being safe than sorry. Liability insurance will be there to cover you if you are to ever cause an accident with another driver. Here is what you should have in liability insurance:
- Bodily injury liability insurance: $25,000 per person.
- Total bodily injury liability insurance: $50,000 if multiple people are injured as a result of an accident.
- Property damage liability insurance: $25,000.
What Other Types Of Insurance Coverages Are Available?
Liability insurance is there to protect you if you ever cause an accident to another driver. However, you might want to consider adding additional types of insurance to your policy. Here are some of the other common types of insurance that you might want to consider:
- Medical payments: This type of coverage will help you cover the cost of your medical bills if you ever get injured in a car accident. You should have at least $1,000 in medical payments coverage.
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage: Despite having no car insurance laws, the state of New Hampshire does not have a lot of uninsured drivers roaming the roadways. Though uncommon, it does still happen from time to time, so it is good to be prepared just in case. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage will help you cover the costs of injuries and damages if you are ever involved in an accident with an at-fault driver who does not have sufficient insurance to cover the damages.
- Collision insurance: This type of car insurance coverage is there to cover the damages done to your vehicle as a result of a car accident.
- Comprehensive insurance: If your car ever gets damaged due to reasons other than a car accident such as bad weather, vandalism, or theft, this type of insurance will cover the costs.
- Towing and labor: This type of insurance is there to save the day if you are ever broken down on the side of the road and need immediate assistance.
- Rental reimbursement: If your car is ever in the shop for an extended period of time, this type of insurance will help you rent a car to drive in the meantime.
Keep in mind that while collision and comprehensive insurance coverages are not mandatory in the state of New Hampshire, they may be required if you are financing or leasing your car.
What Happens If I Don’t Have Car Insurance In New Hampshire?
Just because New Hampshire doesn’t have any specific car insurance laws, doesn’t mean that you don’t need it at all. If you are ever pulled over by law enforcement for a traffic stop, you will usually need to show proof of insurance. If you are ever involved in any serious traffic accidents or traffic violations, you will also be expected to show proof of insurance.
Failure to provide proof of insurance in these scenarios could lead to you having to file an SR-22 with the New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). An SR-22 exists to guarantee that you will have car insurance in New Hampshire for a specific amount of time, usually three years. If you are ordered to comply with an SR-22 filing and you fail to do so, you could face:
- Suspension or revocation of your driver’s license.
- Suspension of your registration privileges.
Be cautious when it comes to car insurance, as the consequences are simply not worth it.
How Do I Get Car Insurance If I Have A Poor Driving Record?
Searching for car insurance can be really difficult if you have a less than stellar driving record. Drivers with poor driving records can be seen as high-risk by insurance companies. If you are struggling to find a company to insure you, you can try to get insurance through the New Hampshire Automobile Insurance Plan. You can apply for this program through any car insurance company or independent licensed agent.
Keep in mind that while this program is there to help you if you need it, it can be more expensive than traditional insurance. Only resort to using this method if you truly have no other options.