In a busy state like New York, millions of drivers fill the roads every day whether heading to work or driving a cab. If you plan on hitting the roads of the Empire State behind the wheel of your vehicle, you are going to need car insurance. Whether you are a new resident in New York, or just a newly licensed driver, there are a few basic things you should know.

New York Car Insurance Laws

New York is known as a No-Fault insurance state. This means that if you are involved in an accident in NY, the car insurance company covers the damages of the insured, no matter whose fault the accident was. The costs associated with the auto accident are paid by way of the insured drivers’ personal injury protection (PIP) coverage, which is mandatory in the state of New York.

Due to the No-Fault Law in New York, every driver on the road must have PIP coverage. PIP coverage is there to provide assistance with medical bills, a percentage of lost wages, funeral expenses, and various other expenses related to the covered car accident.

Required Car Insurance Limits In New York

Accidents can happen at any time, especially in a city as busy as New York. If you plan on being a registered driver in the state of New York, your insurance will need to meet the below coverage limit requirements:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property damage liability coverage: $10,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured/underinsured bodily injury coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Personal injury protection: $50,000

Keep in mind that these are just the limits required by the state of New York, but your personal insurance needs could be different. Make sure to speak with agents about what your specific needs should be while shopping for insurance policies.

Saving Money On Your New York Insurance Premium

Everything comes with a price these days. When an opportunity to save some extra cash presents itself, we tend to jump right on it. Did you know that the state of New York actually has a few different avenues you can take to reduce your insurance premium? Here are some of the different insurance premium discounts that are offered in the Empire State:

New York Good Driver Discount

This discount is applicable to bodily injury, property damage, collision and personal injury coverages. You can be eligible for this perk as long as:

  • At least one driver on the policy has been driving for 5 years or more.
  • All of the main drivers on the insurance policy haven’t been in involved in an accident for 5 years leading up to the policy issue date.
  • All of the drivers on the account are totally free of traffic violation points.

Good Student Discount

If you have a child on your insurance policy and they are making you proud by being studious, you might be eligible for this discount if:

  • He or she is between the ages of 16 and 24 and:
  • Enrolled full-time in either college, high school, or a home study program.

Multi-Policy Discount

Some insurance companies love to give out discounts for customers who have multiple policies through their company. Examples of this could include having both:

  • Car and homeowner’s insurance.
  • Car and renter’s insurance.
  • Car and condominium insurance.
  • Car and mobile home insurance.

Accident Prevention Course Credit

The state of New York has a Point and Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP): You can get 10% knocked off your NY liability and collision insurance premiums if you enroll in an accident prevention course through the PIRP. These courses:

  • Are designed to help drivers refresh their safe driving skills and recall traffic laws in New York.
  • Are privately operated.
  • Can be taken either online or in-person.
  • Run at least 320 minutes long.
  • Can help you get rid of up to 4 violation points on your driving record.

Once you complete the course, you will be given a certificate of completion within 45 days. If you show this certificate to your insurance company within 90 days of completing the course, you can get some pennies shaved off of your insurance premium. By law, your insurance company will have to honor this discount for three years.

Note that the accident prevention course discount may only be used by one driver on the policy.

Registering Your New York Vehicle With The DMV

Registering your vehicle is another inevitable part of the process of becoming a driver in a new state. If you are a new driver in New York, you have up to 30 days to register your vehicle with the New York DMV. To avoid long wait times, it’s in your best interest to make an appointment online before going to the DMV. Make sure to bring all of the appropriate documents that you will need to ensure stress-free trip.

To register your car in the state of New York, bring the following documents with you to the DMV:

  • Proof of ownership.
  • Odometer and damage disclosure statements: This is only if the car is 8 years old or less.
  • State of New York insurance card (FS-20).
  • Identification and date of birth.
  • Form MV-82 (Vehicle Registration/Title Application).
  • Sufficient payment for the registration fees.
  • Proof of sales tax payment, sales tax exemption, or purchase price.

Leave a Reply