Shopping for car insurance is just one of the many responsibilities that comes with being a driver. It’s always important to find a policy that fits your needs and budget, but where you live can also play a role in your decision-making process as well.

Every state has their own laws and requirements for insurance coverage limits. The state of New Mexico has specific types and amounts of insurance coverage. That being said, as a policyholder, you can still opt for a coverage limit that is higher than state’s limits.

Here is what you should know about car insurance in New Mexico.

New Mexico Car Insurance Requirements

No matter where you live in the vast, wide open spaces of New Mexico, you’ll most likely be driving a lot. Car insurance is an essential part of being a responsible driver. By law, it is required in New Mexico to have liability car insurance on your policy to cover the costs related to injuries and property damage resulting from an accident that you may cause.

Here are the coverage limit requirements in New Mexico:

  • Bodily injury liability, including deaths: At least $25,000 per person $50,000 per accident if multiple people are injured
  • Property damage liability: At least $10,000
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury: At least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per per accident if multiple people are injured.
  • Uninsured motorist property damage: At least $10,000 per accident.

While uninsured motorist coverages are typically required in the state of New Mexico, you can contest these coverages by submitting a signed document from your insurance company though the mail. Talk to your insurance agent about the steps to reject uninsured motorist coverage, and whether or not you are eligible.

Even though it might seem like a good idea to cut these coverages from your plan in an effort to save money, you may want to think twice. Some research has led to the discovery that one in four New Mexico drivers are uninsured. This means that if you are in an accident and the other driver is at fault, you may have to pay out of pocket for the damages even though you didn’t cause it. Having car insurance is the responsible thing to do for other drivers on the road but having the right kind of coverage is just as beneficial for you as well.

Teen Drivers In New Mexico

Getting a driver’s license as a teenager is one of the most memorable milestones of our youth. Unfortunately, this demographic is at high risk of being involved in a car accident. This is why car insurance for teens is just that much more important. The state otherwise known as The Land of Enchantment has a three-stage licensing system in place to gradually transition teen drivers under the age of 18 into being safe and responsible drivers.

Here are the three stages of teen licensing in New Mexico:

  • Teens will become eligible for a learner’s permit at the age of 15. This will permit teens to drive as long as they are accompanied by an adult who is 21 or older. To receive a permit, teens must complete a certified driver’s education course.
  • At age 15 ½, the driver will become eligible to apply for a provisional license as long as they have completed 50 hours of supervised driving. This license will allow teens to drive on their own during daytime hours.
  • Once the teen driver has had their provisional license for a full year, they may apply for a regular driver’s license, free of restrictions.

New Mexico License Information

If you’re reading this, there is a good chance that you are either a new driver in New Mexico or you’re thinking about moving there in the near future. If you plan on relocating to New Mexico, you will need to give up your previous state license and apply for a New Mexico driver’s license within 30 days of moving.

To apply for your license in New Mexico, you will need:

  • Your Social Security card.
  • Proof of identification and date of birth.
  • Two proofs of New Mexico residency.
  • Certificate of completion of the “None for the Road” class if you are between the ages of 18 and 24.   
  • To pass an eye examination if you have a previous driver’s license from another state.

Leave a Reply