A Mississippi vehicle registration is a document that links all MS drivers with the vehicles they lease or own.

To register a vehicle with the Mississippi Department of Revenue (MS DOR), MS residents need to go in person to their local tax collector’s office with their vehicle title, driver’s license, an odometer reading, the VIN, and payment for your registration fee.

Certain car owners will then need to have the vehicle inspected after it is registered. Residents of the Magnolia State can transfer a specialty plate and registration from one vehicle to another, but standard plates cannot be transferred.

Registering a Vehicle in Mississippi

New to Mississippi?

Upon establishing residency, new MS residents have 30 days to apply for a MS vehicle registration certificate with the Department of Revenue. Failing to meet this timeframe could result in a $250 fine.

To register, residents can visit their county’s tax collector’s office with:

  • State-issued photo identification.
  • The car’s title. If there’s a lien, provide the name and address of lien holder.
  • The current out-of-state registration.
  • An odometer reading.
  • Payment to cover MS vehicle registration fees (see “Mississippi Vehicle Registration Fees” below).

Unlike most states, proof of car insurance is not required when applying for MS car registration.

Mississippi residents will also complete a Title/Registration application while registering. This form is only available from the tax collector’s office; it cannot be downloaded. MS residents need to make sure they have an active car insurance policy when registering their vehicle.

Vehicles Purchased from a Dealership

Magnolia State residents who purchase a new or used vehicle from a dealership, the dealer will submit your title and registration forms for them. It’s always wise to confirm before exiting the dealership that this arrangement is in place.

Temporary Vehicle Tags

Mississippi residents who buy a vehicle – new or used – from a MS dealership, may buy a temporary tag, also referred to as a drive-out tag. This can only be purchased from the dealership they also purchased the vehicle from. Temporary tags are valid for 7 business days.

Vehicles Purchased from a Private Party

Mississippi residents who purchase a vehicle from a private party are responsible for handling the registration. Residents must register their vehicle within 7 business days of the purchase date. Residents who purchased the vehicle in a different county from their home county of residence have an additional 48 hours to transport their vehicle.

To register, visit a county tax collector’s office with:

  • State-issued photo identification.
  • The car’s signed-over title.
  • An odometer reading (only if purchased in another state).
  • The car’s vehicle identification number (VIN). This is used to help calculate taxes.
  • Payment to cover MS vehicle registration fees (see “Mississippi Vehicle Registration Fees” below).
  • Proof of car insurance is not a MS car registration requirement, though residents are required to carry vehicle insurance.

NOTE: If the vehicle is gifted to an individual, there are no additional requirements to follow during registration.

Transferring a Vehicle Registration

Standard License Plates

Standard Mississippi license plates belong to both the vehicle and the owner. If one separates from the other, the license plates become invalid. This means Mississippi residents cannot transfer standard plates from one vehicle to another. Residents who sell their vehicles must remove the plates and surrender them to their local county tax collector.

To transfer the plate, visit a local tax collector office with:

  • The license plate.
  • The vehicle title.
  • A valid Mississippi driver’s license.
  • Payment to cover registration fees (see “Mississippi Vehicle Registration Fees” below).
  • Military & Non-Resident Vehicle Registration
  • Military Members
  • Military Residents Stationed In State

Mississippi does not offer any vehicle registration exemptions or waivers for most resident military members residing in the state.

Disabled veterans are the lone exception. The state waives ad valorem and privilege taxes on disabled veterans plates.

Non-residents working in Mississippi must obtain MS license plates if they:

  • Maintain a house or apartment in the state.
  • Register to vote in Mississippi.
  • Vehicle Registration Fees

Mississippi vehicle registration fees are based on the vehicle’s model year, the resident’s county of residence, and other individual factors. Some of the base fees and taxes are listed below, but residents will need to contact their local tax collector office to determine their specific rate.

Mississippi Vehicle Registration Fees

The Mississippi vehicle registration fees are as follows:

  • Passenger vehicle registration fee: $14.

MS Road and Bridge Privilege Tax rates:

  • Passenger vehicles: $15.
  • Pickup trucks: $7.20.
  • Motorcycles: $8.

Residents of MS may also be charged ad valorem, sales, and use taxes. These taxes are based on the vehicle’s type and value, and the resident’s town or county of residence. For help in determining these taxes, contact the county tax collector.

Obtain a Duplicate MS Vehicle Registration

For residents who lose their registration certificate, or it is damaged or stolen, they must replace it immediately. Driving without one could lead to a citation if stopped.

To replace, visit your county tax collector office with:

  • A valid MS driver’s license.
  • Payment to cover any applicable replacement fee. Call before visiting to determine what your fee may be.
  • Mississippi Vehicle Inspections

Mississippi requires a safety inspection only on vehicles that have tinted windows. If a car has tinted windows, contact the Department of Public Safety (DPS) to find an inspection station. (601) 987-1243 or (601) 987-1252.

After passing the inspection, residents will be given a certificate of inspection, which must be displayed on the lower left-hand corner of their vehicle’s windshield.

Mississippi License Plates

When applying for a Mississippi vehicle registration certificate, residents will be given a variety of license plates to choose from, including standard plates, vanity or personalized plates, and specialty plates.

Replace Lost Mississippi License Plate

Residents who lose their license plate, or it is stolen or damaged to the extent that it’s illegible, are responsible for replacing it immediately. To replace a license plate, residents need to:

  • Obtain a Lost or Stolen Tag form (Form 76-903) from your county tax collector.
  • Have local enforcement complete the form.
  • Return to your county Tax Collector’s office with the completed form.
  • Pay the $10 license plate fee and $2.50 decal fee.

Registering a Non-Operational Vehicle

If a vehicle’s plates expire while the vehicle is not in use, residents will be charged registration renewal late fees unless they can prove the vehicle had been non-operational.

A storage receipt, for example, would suffice as proof. Mississippi residents who can’t provide proof should renew the plates regardless, even if they have no plans to drive the vehicle in the immediate future.

Motorcycle Registration in Mississippi

Before MS residents can ride a motorcycle in Mississippi, they’ll need to register it with the MS Department of Revenue (DOR). Use this guide to learn about registering a motorcycle as a new resident OR as a current resident who recently bought a bike.

New Mississippi Residents

After establishing Mississippi residency, new MS residents have 30 days to register their motorcycle. If they do not register their motorcycle within the grace period, they could face a fine of $250 plus additional late fees. To register a motorcycle, residents of Mississippi need to provide the following items at their local county tax collector’s office:

A completed:

  • Application for Title & Registration. These forms are available at your county tax collector’s office only and are not available online. Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form 78-015).
  • A valid state-issued photo ID.
  • The motorcycle’s current out-of-state title and registration.
  • If the motorcycle wasn’t titled in their previous state, provide a Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin.
  • If a lienholder currently has the title, provide the lienholder’s name and address.
  • Payment for the $14 motorcycle registration fee PLUS any other applicable taxes and fees.

Registering Your MS Motorcycle

The steps to registering a motorcycle with the Mississippi Department of Revenue will differ depending on if MS residents purchased their vehicle from a dealership OR from a private seller. Below residents can find instructions for both scenarios.

Motorcycles from Dealerships

When residents purchase a motorcycle from a MS dealership, the agent should handle the registration process. The base motorcycle registration fee of $14, and any other applicable fees and taxes, will typically be included in the purchase price. Be sure to confirm the dealer doesn’t need anything else to complete the registration. In some cases, the dealership may provide a temporary registration until the permanent registration and license plates arrive in the mail.

If the dealer doesn’t automatically register your motorcycle, see our section on “Motorcycles from Private Sellers” below.

Motorcycles from Private Sellers

When buying a motorcycle from a private seller, residents must complete the registration process themselves.

The amount of time residents have to register their bike depends on if they bought the motorcycle:

  • In their MS county of residence: 7 business days from the purchase date.
  • Outside their county: 7 business days plus 48 hours from the sale date.

To register your motorcycle, visit the local county tax collector’s office and provide the following:

  • The motorcycle’s title signed by the buyer AND seller.

A completed:

  • Application for Title and Registration. Can only be obtained at the county tax collector’s office—not available online.
  • Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form 78-015).
  • The Mississippi motorcycle license.
  • The motorcycle’s vehicle identification number (VIN) for tax purposes.
  • The $14 base fee AND any other appropriate taxes and fees.

Though MS residents aren’t required to show proof of MS motorcycle insurance when applying for registration, they are required to carry it to legally operate their bike on Mississippi roads.

Motorcycle Registration Fees & Taxes

Below are some of the MS Department of Revenue’s basic motorcycle registration fees:

  • First-time registration: $14.
  • Road and Bridge Privilege motorcycle tax: $8.
  • Sales tax: 5% of the purchase price.
  • County tax: Varies—contact your county tax collector’s office for details.

Boat Registration and Licenses in Mississippi

Mississippi residents who want to operate a boat in MS, may need to register it with the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks (MDWFP). Continue scrolling to find all the information you need about registering your vessel AND the state’s minimum requirements for boating on Mississippi waters.

MS Vessels Requiring Registration

In Mississippi, ALL motorized vessels AND ALL sailboats must be registered with the Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks. The only exceptions are boats documented with the U.S. Coast Guard. MS residents who are unsure whether their boat requires registration can contact the MDWFP for clarification.

MS Boat Registration Procedures

After buying a boat, residents have 10 days from the purchase date to register the vessel in their name. Start the process by gathering the following items:

  • A completed Mississippi Motorboat Registration Application (REV 2016).
  • Detach the stub at the bottom of the application to use as temporary registration while they wait for your official registration and decals to arrive.

Any of the following proof of purchase documents:

  • Sales receipt.
  • Bill of sale that’s notarized OR signed by 2 witnesses.
  • Notarized explanation of how the individual came to own the vessel (e.g. the boat was transferred into your name by a deceased relative).
  • If they bought the boat out-of-state, proof of Mississippi sales tax paid.
  • Payment for the applicable vessel registration fees.

Then, submit the items above in person OR by mail to:

Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks
Boating Division
1505 Eastover Drive
Jackson, MS 39211

Boat registrations with the MDWFP are valid for 3 years from the last day of the month in which residents registered their boat.

Boat Registration Fees in Mississippi

The Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks charges the following fees for boat registrations:

  • Original/renewal boat registration (based on the length of your boat):
  • Less than 16 ft in length: $10.20.
  • Between 16 ft up to 26 ft in length: $25.20.
  • Between 26 ft up to 40 ft in length: $47.70.
  • 40 ft in length and over: $47.70.
  • Duplicate boat registration certificate: $7.70.
  • Mississippi sales tax: 7% of the sale price.

Boat Registration Renewals & Replacements

The MDWFP will mail MS residents a registration renewal notice before their vessel’s registration expires. Residents can renew their Mississippi boat registration by providing information about their vessel AND the necessary renewal fees:

Online using the MDWFP’s registration renewal portal.

By calling (800) 546-4868.


By mail to the address listed on your renewal notice.

Replace a Lost Registration

If an MS boat registration is lost or destroyed, residents can request a duplicate from the Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks:

  • By calling (800) 546-4868.
  • By mailing a completed Mississippi Motorboat Registration Application (REV 2016) AND the appropriate duplicate registration fees to:

Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks
Boating Division
1505 Eastover Drive
Jackson, MS 39211

Mississippi Boater Requirements

MS residents who were born after June 30, 1980, must complete a boating safety course.

Additionally, all individuals less than 12 years old must be supervised by a person who is at least 21 years old while operating a boat on Mississippi waters.

Mississippi residents can fulfill the Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks’ education requirement:

  • Online with an approved boating education provider, listed on the MDWFP’s boater education page.
  • In the classroom—for the schedule of classes, contact the MDWFP by:

Calling (601)-432-2178 in writing to:

Boating Enforcement
P. O. Box 451
Jackson, MS 39205-0451

SPECIAL SAFETY NOTE: MS residents are required to have at least 1 life jacket or personal flotation device for each person aboard your vessel. The life jacket must be wearable.

Accepted Forms of Payment

The Mississippi DMV accepts these forms of payment:

  • Cash
  • Money order
  • Personal check
  • Bank check
  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Visa
  • Discover
  • Debit card/Credit Card

Mississippi residents need to make sure they have the proper form of payment before heading to their local MS DMV office.

Leave a Reply