If you want to transfer the title of a vehicle in Vermont, there are documents you need to have in order. The following steps need to be taken to transfer a vehicle title in Vermont:
- The seller of a vehicle must assign the vehicle title over to the vehicle buyer and provide an odometer disclosure and bill of sale
- The buyer of the vehicle needs to take the paperwork from the vehicle’s seller to their local DMV
- The vehicle’s buyer completes a vehicle title and registration application form
- The vehicle’s buyer submits all documents and payments for the vehicle titling fees
Be advised you may be required to submit additional documents and payments at the time of the vehicle title transfer.
In Vermont, this state requires all non-exempt vehicles that are registered in the state to pass a vehicle safety inspection and a vehicle emissions test for original vehicle registrations and annual registration renewals.
Vermont vehicle owners can have a safety inspection and emissions test performed simultaneously in the same location. New residents of Vermont have similar requirements to fulfill.
There are emissions and smog check requirements in Vermont that residents of this state have to follow. If your vehicle falls into one of the following categories, it is required that the vehicle pass a Vermont smog check:
- Gasoline-powered vehicles made in 1996 model year or newer
- Diesel-powered vehicles made in 1997 weighing less than 8,500 pounds
Almost all motor vehicles in the state of Vermont are required to pass a safety inspection. You also need to check and make sure your vehicle meets Vermont’s vehicle insurance requirements.
Smog Check Exemptions in Vermont
There are different smog check exemptions in Vermont. Vehicles that have exhibition registrations made in the 1940 model year and older, with no additional modifications or additions, are not required to pass a Vermont smog check.
If you are purchasing or selling a vehicle in Vermont, you are required to transfer ownership of the vehicle by transferring the vehicle’s title. Here’s what you need to know about transferring a vehicle title in the Green Mountain state.
In the state of Vermont, vehicles 15 years old and newer require a title. Once you establish residency in Vermont, if your vehicle falls within this classification, you are required to visit your local Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (VT DMV) to transfer your out-of-state vehicle title and register your vehicle.
You need to take the following items to your local VT DMV office:
- The out-of-state vehicle title and registration
- A completed Registration, Title, Tax Application (Form VD-119) if you are also registering your vehicle simultaneously
- If your vehicle is 20 years old and newer, you need to obtain an odometer disclosure statement (you can complete this statement and sign the back of the vehicle’s title or use the Bill of Sale and Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form VT-005)
- Proof of paid tax in your previous state
- Proof of VIN verification (this verification can be conducted at your local VT DMV office or by a law enforcement official)
- Payment for all applicable VT vehicle title fees and taxes
The vehicle’s title will be mailed to you, if you are the sole owner of the vehicle, or to the lien holder if applicable.
There are specific steps you need to when you purchase a vehicle from a private seller. If you purchase a vehicle in a private sale, you are required to obtain the following documents and submit them to your local VT DMV office:
- The original vehicle title that is properly assigned to you by the vehicle’s owner. If the vehicle title is missing, the seller is required to give you the previous vehicle registration certificate, and you need to have a VIN inspection performed.
- A completed Bill of Sale and Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form VT-005) This form needs to be filled out by the vehicle’s seller and buyer
- Proof of a lien release (if applicable) The vehicle can’t be sold to you if it still has a lien against it
- A completed Registration/Title/Tax Application (Form VD-119)
- Payment for all applicable vehicle titling fees and taxes
In Vermont, when you purchase a vehicle from the dealership, the dealership handles the titling and registration process on your behalf. If a dealership doesn’t handle the necessary paperwork for you, you must visit your local VT DMV office to title the vehicle on your own.
You need to have the following documents to transfer the title of a vehicle purchased from a Vermont dealership:
- The Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) Vehicles that are built in Canada also require a New Vehicle Information Statement
- A completed Bill of Sale and Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form VT-005)
- A completed Registration/Title/Tax Application (Form VD-119) if you wish to register your vehicle simultaneously
Make sure you have the above-stated forms to correctly transfer the title of a Vermont vehicle purchased at a dealership to avoid unnecessary delays.
If you’re selling a vehicle in Vermont, the buyer of the vehicle is responsible for completing and submitting the required paperwork to the VT DMV.
As the seller of a vehicle, you are responsible for providing the proper documentation to the vehicle’s buyer, including:
- Assigning the original vehicle title to the vehicle buyer
- Filling out a Bill of Sale and Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form VT-005) with the vehicle’s buyer
- Providing or obtaining a lien release (if applicable) Keep in mind, you can’t sell the vehicle with a lien on it
If you’re the beneficiary in an estate, and you want to keep the vehicle, sell it to someone else or a relative, you will need to transfer ownership of the vehicle.
If you are a surviving spouse, beneficiary, or joint-owner, the good news is, you have the legal authority to transfer the vehicle title to someone else when the owner passes away. The steps you need to take to transfer ownership of the vehicle depend on whether the estate is probated.
When the owner of a vehicle passes away, the process you will follow to transfer the vehicle title of a deceased owner will vary depending on whether the vehicle’s title was in the individual’s name as a descendant or joint ownership. If the vehicle title was solely in the descendant’s name, you need to know if the estate is being probated.
Probate is a legal process that administers the estate of a deceased individual. This legal process occurs when there is no living spouse or beneficiary provided in the will. The probate validates the deceased individual’s property and assets and proves the last will and testament are legitimate. The Probate Court will determine how you should proceed with the individual’s belongings according to their will.
When the vehicle in question is part of a probated estate, you must follow these steps to transfer the vehicle title of a vehicle with the deceased owner:
Contact an Attorney or Probate Court
A vehicle’s title can’t be transferred until the probate process is complete. In this situation, the administrator or executor of the deceased needs to contact Probate Court or an attorney immediately to receive instructions on how to proceed in this situation. When the probate process is complete, the heir will receive the vehicle. If the executor was granted ownership of the vehicle, they can choose to sell it.
Gather the Necessary Documents
The required documents for transferring the vehicle title of a deceased vehicle owner vary slightly from one state to another, but in Vermont, you need to obtain the following documents to transfer ownership of the vehicle:
- Death certificate
- Order from Probate Court to transfer the vehicle
- Certificate of title
- Odometer disclosure statement
- Transfer fee
Visit the Title Office
If you are the administrator of the deceased individual’s estate or the beneficiary, you can visit your local VT title office with the above-listed documentation to begin the transfer of vehicle ownership.
If the vehicle in question is without probate, the process varies depending on the state you live in. In the state of Vermont, the deceased individual’s proper can’t exceed a certain amount, and a specific amount of time needs to pass since the individual passed away before the vehicle title transfer can be initiated.
If you happen to be the administrator, spouse, joint-owner, or beneficiary of the estate, you may only be required to provide a death certificate and vehicle title to your local VT title office and have them retitle the vehicle’s title. Court orders and attorneys are not required.
If you inherited a vehicle in Vermont, the steps you need to follow are based on a variety of factors, such as whether the vehicle was owned jointly by spouses, whether it was owned solely by the deceased, or whether it was owned by the deceased and unrelated individuals.
In Vermont, you can’t transfer the ownership of a vehicle without a title. If you have lost or damaged your vehicle’s title, you can apply for a duplicate Vermont vehicle title (Form VT-004).
The good news is, you can gift a vehicle to a family member with the proper documentation. If you are the recipient of a gifted vehicle or a vehicle’s ownership is being transferred from a relative, you need to complete a vehicle title transfer at your local VT DMV. The process for transferring ownership of this gifted vehicle is similar to the process you would follow when you are buying or selling a vehicle in Vermont.
As you will notice, there are different sections of a Vermont vehicle title. In the “price” section of the vehicle’s title, you must write “0”. If you are the recipient of the vehicle, you may be exempt from paying taxes on the vehicle. As you would with a private vehicle sale in Vermont, you are required to complete the transfer of ownership sections on the reverse side of the vehicle’s title.
Although you are gifting a vehicle to a relative, they may still owe taxes on the current market value of the vehicle when they go to register the vehicle. You need to make sure you take the original vehicle title to the VT city clerk to have the application for a new vehicle title completed. Keep in mind, this vehicle title form needs to be signed before it is valid.
If you need to transfer the title of an out-of-state vehicle in Vermont, you must meet a variety of requirements. The following paperwork is required to transfer the title of an out-of-state vehicle to the state of Vermont:
- The original out-of-state vehicle title
- Proof of identification (ex. A valid driver’s license)
- A completed application for a certificate of ownership
- A completed Vermont vehicle registration application
- Proof of a valid VT vehicle insurance policy
If a lien holder possesses your vehicle’s title, you must fill out an application for the release of the vehicle title, which will be sent to the VT DMV. Be advised, you may be required to submit additional information.
If you lose or misplace your Vermont vehicle title, you must apply for a duplicate vehicle title (Form VT-004). Visit your local VT DMV office with the duplicate vehicle title form and payment for the duplicate title fee. You will most likely need proof of identification and your current vehicle title registration certificate.
Hooray! You paid off your vehicle loan. While you’re celebrating, when you pay off the loan on your vehicle, you can obtain a clear vehicle title from your local VT DMV office. A clear VT vehicle title does not have the lien holder’s name or information on it.
You need to send a Release of Lien (Form TA-VT-08) to your lien holder. The lien holder will provide their information and sign the vehicle title over to you. Once you complete this step, you can send the Release of Lien form and Duplicate Title Application (Form VT-004) to the VT DMV along with all applicable payments for the duplicate vehicle title fee.
In the state of Vermont, there are different fees associated with vehicle title transfer. The following are the standard vehicle titling fees and taxes you will owe when you are titling a Vermont vehicle:
- Original vehicle title: $35
- Vehicle title transfer: $35
- Clear vehicle title after lien removal: $35
- Corrected vehicle title: $35
- Duplicate vehicle title: $35
- Assignment of security interest to vehicle title: $11
- Vehicle title search: $20
- Vehicle tax: 6% of taxable vehicle cost
There are different DMV locations in Vermont where you can transfer a vehicle’s title.
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles – (Montpelier Office)
120 State St.
Montpelier, VT 05603
Monday-Friday (7:45 AM to 4:30 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (Closed)
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles – (Middlebury Office)
7 Mahady Ct.
Middlebury, VT 05753
Monday-Friday (7:45 AM to 4:30 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (Closed)
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles – (Springfield Office)
100 Mineral St.
Springfield, VT 05156
Monday-Friday (7:45 AM to 4:30 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (Closed)
In order to ensure you complete the Vermont vehicle title and title transfer forms, you must make sure you have the required signatures of the vehicle’s seller and buyer in the designated areas on the vehicle title. Keep in mind, you also need to create a bill of sale that provides information about the vehicle, such as its make, year, model, and color, and don’t forget to include the vehicle’s VIN.
If you sold a vehicle instead of gifting it, sales tax is required to be added to the vehicle’s total price. In the “transfer of title by seller” section of the vehicle title, provide an accurate odometer reading, and ensure the recipient of the vehicle signs the vehicle’s title in the provided spaces.
Be advised that you may be required to provide additional documentation, including a valid Vermont vehicle insurance policy that meets or exceeds the state’s minimum coverage limits. You may also be required to provide a valid government-issued photo ID or a foreign passport for proof of identification.
When a vehicle’s title is signed but not transferred, the vehicle has an open title. With an open Vermont vehicle title, the vehicle’s seller didn’t transfer ownership of or register the vehicle in their name.
Since the vehicle seller’s name is not on the Vermont vehicle title, they do not assume any legal responsibility for anything associated with the vehicle, such as taxes and other fees.
If the vehicle’s seller has lost the title, they can easily apply for a duplicate VT vehicle title (Form VT-004) and sign it over to you for you to put in your name. Be advised, the individual who is listed on the vehicle’s title is responsible for requesting a duplicate vehicle title.