In South Dakota, when you need to transfer the title of a vehicle, there are certain steps you need to take, such as providing specific documentation and payment(s).
To correctly transfer the title of a vehicle in South Dakota, you need to submit the following documents and payments to your local South Dakota Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) or county treasurer:
- The properly assigned vehicle title from the vehicle’s seller
- A bill of sale (completed with the seller of the vehicle)
- A completed vehicle title and vehicle registration application
Be advised you may be required to submit additional documents and payments at the time of the vehicle title transfer.
Smog Certification/Vehicle Inspection
In South Dakota, there are no vehicle emissions test requirements at this time.
How to Transfer Your Vehicle Title in South Dakota?
Whether you’re purchasing or selling a vehicle in South Dakota, the state requires you to transfer ownership of the vehicle by transferring the vehicle’s title. Here’s what you need to know about vehicle title transfers in South Dakota.
Transferring a Vehicle’s Title As a New Resident of South Dakota
Once you establish residency in the Mount Rushmore State, you have 90 days to title your vehicle with the SD MVD.
You must visit your local county treasurer’s office and:
- Complete an Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration (Form MV-608)
- Fill out the odometer disclosure section (if your vehicle is 9 years old or less)
- Attach your current vehicle title to your application
- Submit payment for the vehicle title fee and excise tax, plus the fees required to register your vehicle
Make sure you have the required payment(s) and documents to avoid delays and possible penalties.
Transferring the Title of a Vehicle Purchased From a Private Seller
When you purchase a vehicle from a private party, you need to apply for a new SD vehicle title in your name within 45 days.
The seller of the vehicle is required to:
- Provide you with the proper signed over vehicle title (signed over to you as the new vehicle owner)
- Complete the odometer disclosure section on the Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration (Form MV-608) This form is required if the vehicle is 9 years old or less
- Complete a Bill of Sale (Form MV-016) This form must include the vehicle’s make, model, year, and color, the date and price of sale, and the vehicle buyer and seller’s signatures)
- Provide proof of lien (if there is a lien on the vehicle)
When you have collected the required documents from the vehicle’s seller, you need to visit your local SD county treasurer and submit:
- All paperwork provided by the vehicle’s seller
- A completed Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration (Form MV-608)
- Payment for all applicable vehicle title fees and taxes, plus the fees for your vehicle registration
Double-check and make sure you have the necessary paperwork and payment(s) to transfer the title of the vehicle because one missing document will delay the SD vehicle title transfer process.
Transferring the Title of a Vehicle Purchased From a Dealership
If you purchased your vehicle from a dealership in SD, the dealer will usually handle the vehicle titling and registration paperwork for you. If the dealer does not handle the required paperwork, you must complete the required steps.
Make sure the dealer provides you with:
- The Manufacturer’s Statement/Certification of Origin (MSO/MCO, or the original vehicle title
- The completed price certification section on the Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration (Form MV-608)
- Completed odometer disclosure section on the vehicle title or MCO/MSO (for vehicles that are 9 years old or less)
- A completed South Dakota Salvage, Recovered Theft, and Uniform Damage Disclosure Statement (Form MV-610), if applicable
Within 45 days of buying a vehicle, you are required to submit the following to your county treasurer:
- All paperwork provided by the dealer
- The completed Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration (Form MV-608)
- Payment for your vehicle registration and titling fees plus excise tax
Make sure you submit the required paperwork and payment(s) before the 45-day deadline to avoid penalties.
Transferring the Title of a Vehicle You’re Selling in South Dakota
Before you can sell your vehicle in South Dakota, you will first need to apply for a seller’s permit. This permit allows the vehicle buyer to drive the vehicle from your property after the sale of the vehicle.
You can apply for the seller’s permit online or in person at your county treasurer’s office. A seller’s permit is valid for 30 days and free.
As the seller of the vehicle, you need to provide the vehicle’s buyer with:
- A properly-assigned vehicle title indicating the new owner
- A Bill of Sale (Form MV-016) that includes:
- Date and price of sale
- Make, model, and year of the vehicle
- Your information and signature
- The vehicle buyer’s information
- Proof of lien release (if there is a lien on the vehicle)
- An odometer disclosure completed on the Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration (Form MV-608) if the vehicle is 9 years old or less
You also need to complete a Seller’s Report of Sale (Form MV2200) and submit it to your SD county treasurer within 15 days of selling your vehicle.
How to Transfer a Vehicle Title When the Owner is Deceased?
When the owner of a vehicle passes away, transferring the title of the vehicle is necessary for beneficiaries who want to keep the vehicle, gift it to a family member, or sell the vehicle to someone else. However, this process is not as simple as handing over the keys to the new vehicle owner.
Whether you are a surviving spouse, a joint-owner, or a beneficiary, you have the legal authority to transfer the title of the vehicle to someone else after the vehicle owner has passed away (if the vehicle is going to be used).
Is The Vehicle Part of a Probated Estate?
When the owner of a vehicle passes away, the vehicle title transfer process depends on if the vehicle title was in the individual’s name as the descendant or joint ownership. If the vehicle title was solely in the decedent’s name, you need to determine the probate status of the estate.
Probate is the legal process that involves administering the estate of the deceased. This legal process occurs when there is no living spouse or beneficiary provided in the will. The probate proves the last will and testament are legitimate, and it also validates the deceased’s assets and property. During this process, the deceased person’s property will be distributed based on their will.
If the vehicle is part of a probated estate, you must follow these steps to transfer the vehicle title of a deceased vehicle owner:
Contact Probate Court and Attorney
The title of a vehicle can’t be transferred until the probate process is complete. The executor or administrator of the deceased needs to contact the Probate Court or an attorney to receive further instruction on the probate process. When the probate is complete, the heir will receive the vehicle, unless the vehicle was left to the executor. If the vehicle was left to the executor, they can choose to sell it.
Gather the Necessary Documentation
The required documents for transferring the vehicle title of a vehicle that’s probated vary slightly from one state to the next. Make sure you have all the following documents and payment(s) to transfer the vehicle title in South Dakota:
- Death certificate
- Order from Probate Court to transfer the vehicle
- Certificate of the title
- Odometer disclosure statement
- Vehicle title transfer fee
Visit the Title Office
As the beneficiary of the vehicle or the administrator of the deceased individual’s estate, you can visit your local SD title office with the above-listed documents to start the vehicle title transfer process.
How to Transfer a Car Title Without Probate
The process you will follow when transferring the title of a vehicle without probate will vary depending on the state in which you live. In the state of South Dakota, the deceased’s property can’t exceed a specific amount, and a certain amount of time needs to have passed since the person passed away before the vehicle title transfer can be initiated.
As the joint-owner, administrator, spouse, or beneficiary, you may only be required to provide a death certificate and vehicle title at your local title office, and they will retitle the vehicle’s title for you. No court orders or attorneys are required.
Transferring the Title of an Inherited Vehicle in South Dakota
The steps you need to take to transfer ownership of an inherited vehicle will differ based on whether the estate is probated or not.
In a probated estate, the personal representative of the estate is responsible for completing the vehicle title transfer. The representative and heir need to provide the county treasurer with:
- The original vehicle title certificate
- A copy of the representative’s appointment papers
- The driver’s license and social security number of each individual taking ownership of the vehicle
- A completed South Dakota Salvage, Recorded Theft, and Uniform Damage Disclosure Statement (Form MV-610) if applicable
- A completed South Dakota Exemptions form (Form MV-609)
- Payment for all applicable vehicle title transfer fees
If the personal representative is selling the vehicle rather than transferring ownership to an heir, you need to follow the steps you are required to take to sell a vehicle to a private party in South Dakota. Make sure you attach a copy of the appointment papers to the vehicle title.
How to Transfer Ownership of a Vehicle Without a Title in South Dakota?
It is impossible to transfer ownership of a vehicle in South Dakota without a vehicle title. If you lose the vehicle’s title, you need to apply for a duplicate SD vehicle title (Form MV-010).
Can I Gift a Car to a Family Member?
Yes! You can gift a vehicle to a relative as long as you have the required documentation. If you are the recipient of a gifted vehicle, or the vehicle is being transferred from a relative, you must complete a vehicle title transfer at your local SD MVD office.
To transfer the title of a gifted vehicle is the same as transferring the title of a vehicle you are buying or selling in South Dakota.
In the “price” section of the vehicle’s title, write “0”. The person receiving the vehicle may be exempt from paying the sales tax on the vehicle. Just like you would with a private vehicle sale, you are required to fill out the transfer of ownership sections on the back of the original vehicle title.
Although the vehicle is being gifted to a relative, they may still owe a tax on the current market value of the vehicle when they are registering the vehicle. Make sure you take the signed original vehicle title to the SD city clerk to have the new vehicle title application completed.
Transferring a Vehicle Title When You Have an Out-of-State Title
When you are transferring the title of an out-of-state vehicle in South Dakota, you must meet a variety of requirements. The following out-of-state vehicle title transfer paperwork is required to correctly transfer the title from one state to South Dakota:
- The original out-of-state vehicle title
- A completed application for a certificate of ownership
- A completed South Dakota vehicle registration application
- Proof of a valid SD vehicle insurance policy
- Proof of identification (ex. A valid driver’s license)
If a lien holder is in possession of the vehicle’s title, you need to complete an application for the release of the vehicle title, which will be sent to the SD MVD. Be advised, you may be required to submit additional information.
Requesting a Duplicate Vehicle Title in South Dakota
In the state of South Dakota, your vehicle is required to have a title. If you have lost or misplaced your SD vehicle title, you need to take these steps to ensure you replace the vehicle title:
- Complete an Application for a Duplicate Certificate of Title (Form MV-010)
- Payment for the SD duplicate vehicle title fee
You can submit the above-documentation in person at your local SD county treasurer office or by mail to the following address:
SD Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capital Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
Transferring a Vehicle Title With a Lien
Congratulations! You paid off your vehicle loan. When you pay off your vehicle loan, the lien holder has 20 days to release the lien on the vehicle. If the lien holder is in the possession of the vehicle title, they will send it to an SD county treasurer.
If you are in possession of the vehicle title, the lien holder will provide you with a release of lien, which you can submit to your local SD county treasurer with your vehicle title certificate to have the lien notation removed.
How Much Does a Title Transfer Cost in South Dakota?
There are different vehicle title transfer fees in South Dakota. Here’s what you need to know.
The basic fees you have to pay when you are titling a vehicle in SD are:
- Standard titling fee: $10.
- Late application fee: $1 for every 1 week past the grace period of 45 days.
- Maximum late fee: $50 total.
- Title transfer fee: $10.
- Lien notations: $10.
- Lien releases: Free.
- Duplicate title: $10.
- Excise tax: 4% of the vehicle’s purchase price.
If you are a new resident of South Dakota and you paid excise tax in your previous state, you won’t have to pay it again as long as it was equal to or more than South Dakota’s 4% tax. If it was less, you’ll pay for the remainder up to the 4% owed. You need to bring proof of any excise or sales tax paid in your previous state.
Where Can I Go to Transfer a Vehicle Title in South Dakota?
There are different MVD locations in New Hampshire where you can transfer a vehicle’s title.
South Dakota MVD – Brookings Office
910 4th St
Brookings, SD 57006
Tuesday-Friday (7 AM to 5:30 PM)
Monday, Saturday, and Sunday (Closed)
South Dakota MVD – Pierre Office
420 S Garfield Ave Ste 700
Pierre, SD 57501
Tuesday-Friday (7 AM to 5:30 PM)
Monday, Saturday, and Sunday (Closed)
South Dakota MVD – Mitchell Office
1315 N Main St. Ste 100
Mitchell, SD 57301
Tuesday-Friday (7 AM to 5:30 PM)
Monday, Saturday, and Sunday (Closed)
How to Fill Out the South Dakota Title and Title Transfer Forms
In order to ensure you complete the South Dakota vehicle title and title transfer forms, you need to ensure the required signatures of the vehicle’s seller and buyer in the designated areas on the vehicle title. You also need to create a bill of sale that provides information about the vehicle, such as its make, year, model, and color. Don’t forget to include the VIN of the vehicle.
If you sold a vehicle instead of gifting it, the correct sales tax needs to be added to the vehicle’s total price. In the “transfer of title by seller” section of the vehicle title, provide an odometer reading, and make sure the recipient of the vehicle signs the vehicle’s title in the designated spaces.
Be advised that you may be required to provide additional documentation, such as a valid South Dakota vehicle insurance policy that meets or exceeds the state’s minimum coverage limits. You may also be required to provide a valid government-issued photo ID or a foreign passport for valid proof of identification.
My Vehicle Title Was Signed But Never Transferred. What Do I Do?
When a vehicle’s title is signed but not transferred, the vehicle has an open title. An open vehicle title means the vehicle’s seller didn’t transfer ownership of or register the vehicle in their name.
Since the vehicle seller’s name is not provided on the vehicle title, they do not assume any legal responsibility for anything associated with the vehicle, such as taxes and other fees.
If the vehicle’s seller has lost the title, they can apply for a duplicate SD vehicle title (Form MV-010) and sign it over to you for you to put in your name. Keep in mind, the person who is listed on the vehicle’s title must request a duplicate vehicle title.