Soak up the sun and make friends with sunflowers in the state of Kansas! If you need to get your Kansas driver’s, commercial, or motorcycle license, you’ve landed on the right page because we’re going to show you how!
Types of Kansas Driver’s Licenses
In the state of Kansas, there are different types of driver’s licenses you can apply for depending on your driving needs, such as the type of vehicle you wish to operate. Let’s discuss your options.
- Non-Commercial – Kansas non-commercial driver’s licenses are Class A, B, or C. The type of non-commercial driver’s license you are required to obtain depends on the car’s weight. Class C driver’s licenses are the standard driver’s licenses in Kansas to operate a standard car.
- Driver’s Permit – a Kansas driver’s permit allows you to practice operating a motor vehicle under certain restrictions.
- Motorcycle License – also referred to as a Class M driver’s license, allows you to operate a motorcycle on the roads and highways of Kansas
- Commercial Driver’s License – a (CDL) Class A, B, or C, may be required depending on the weight of the vehicle.
- Class A (CDL) – with a Class A CDL, you can operate combination commercial vehicles that have a Gross Combined Weight Rating (GCWR) of at least 26,001 lbs. The towing unit should have a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) that is at least 10,000 lbs.
- Class B (CDL) – with a Class B CDL, you can operate single commercial motor vehicles with a weight exceeding 26,000 lbs. If you are towing a unit, the unit’s weight should NOT exceed 10,000 lbs.
- Class C (CDL) – with a Class C CDL, you can operate single commercial vehicles that do NOT exceed 26,001 lbs. and a tow that does NOT exceed 10,000 lbs. Also, with a Class C CDL, you can operate vehicles that are designed to carry a minimum of 16 passengers and vehicles that transport hazardous materials.
Kansas Driver’s License Requirements
In the state of Kansas, you are required to apply for an unrestricted KS driver’s license if:
- You are at least 17 years old
- You have completed a Driver’s Education (Driver’s Ed) course, if you are younger than 18 years old
- You have parental consent (if you’re younger than 18 years old)
- Your driving privileges are NOT currently canceled, suspended, denied, or revoked in ANY state
- You haven’t been deemed mentally incompetent by a court
- You don’t have an alcohol or substance abuse problem
- You are clear of unpaid fines (for moving traffic violations)
You are NOT required to obtain a Kansas driver’s license if:
- You’re at least 18 years old and visiting Kansas with a valid out-of-state driver’s license
- You are an active military member or dependent who is stationed in Kansas, as long as you have a valid out-of-state driver’s license, and you haven’t established residency in Kansas
- You operate farm vehicles off public highways
- You ONLY operate registered off-highway vehicles and snowmobiles without accessing public roads (other than crossing the roads)
Applying for Your Kansas Driver’s License
To apply for your KS driver’s license, you must apply in person at a Kansas Department of Revenue (KS DOR) office. You must pass the Kansas vision, written knowledge, and driving tests. You will also be required to pay all applicable fees. If you are younger than 17 years old, you must complete the Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) program.
To apply for your Kansas driver’s license, you must bring the following with you to a KS DOR office:
- Acceptable documents that prove your:
- Name and date of birth (such as your birth certificate, permanent resident card, or US citizenship certificate)
- Lawful status in the US (such as your passport, foreign passport with visa, and I-551 stamp, or valid employment authorized card)
- Kansas residency (such as your recent bank statement, utility bill, or insurance card)
- Social security number (SSN), which can include your social security card, and W-2 form (if you don’t have an SSN, you must obtain a letter of ineligibility from the Social Security Administration (SSA)
- Name change, if applicable (such as a marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court order)
- Pass the required tests:
- Pay all applicable fees
Kansas Driver’s License Fees
The cost of your Kansas driver’s license depends on your age and the length of validity.
- Under 21 years old (valid until your 21st birthday): $51
- License fees vary by type and age:
- Instruction permit (driver’s license and motorcycle) valid for 1 year: $10
- 65 years old and over (valid for 4 years): $23
- 21 to under 65 years old (valid for 6 years): $29
You can contact your local KS DOR branch for more information regarding driver’s licenses, fees, and accepted payment methods.
Kansas Driver’s License Tests
Before you are issued a Kansas driver’s license, the KS DOR requires you to complete and pass a vision exam, written test, and driving test.
To complete the Kansas vision exam, you must either complete and pass the vision exam at a KS DOR office or provide a driver licensing eye exam form, which must be completed by your ophthalmologist or optometrist. The vision exam must be issued within the last 90 days. If you require corrective lenses, this requirement will be present on your KS driver’s license.
Written Knowledge Test
You will be required to complete a written knowledge exam to receive your KS driver’s license. This exam tests your knowledge of the local KS road signs and traffic laws. If you fail the written exam, you must wait until the next business day to retake the exam. You will also be required to pay a $1.50 retesting fee. If you fail the written knowledge exam 4 times, you must wait at least 6 months before you will be eligible to retake the test.
To be issued a Kansas driver’s license, you will be required to complete and pass a driving exam. This driving exam requires you to demonstrate your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle on Kansas’s public roads and highways. You must provide a vehicle and provide proof of a valid Kansas auto insurance policy.
If you fail the Kansas driving exam, you must wait until the next business day to retake it. You will also have to pay the $1.50 retesting fee. Failing the KS driving test 4 times will result in waiting at least 6 months to be eligible to retake the exam.
Acceptable Identification Documents in Kansas
In the state of Kansas, there are different types of acceptable information documents you can use when you’re applying for a KS driver’s license, which can include your:
- Birth certificate
- Permanent resident card
- Armed forces ID cards
- Foreign passport with a valid I-94 (the expiration date of the I-94 expiration date must be more than 2 months from the date you visit the office)
- Certificate of Naturalization
Examples of true full-name verification documents include:
- A dissolution of marriage document that contains your legal name as a result of the court order
- Marriage certificate
- Adoption documents that contain your legal name as a result of the adoption
- Certificate of registration document that verifies the formation of a domestic partnership
- Name change documents that contain your legal name both before and after
Examples of acceptable residency documents can include:
- A record of financial institution (bank account)
- Insurance documents
- California vehicle or vessel title or registration
- Resident utility bills (can include cell phone bills
Obtaining a Kansas Driver’s License Under the Age of 18 Years Old
The KS DOR requires all new drivers to meet the requirements of its Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) program. First, you will need to obtain your Kansas learner’s permit. You can bypass some of the testing requirements if you complete a Driver’s Education course. This driving course can help you waive different DMV tests and prepare you to operate a motor vehicle safely when you receive your Kansas unrestricted driver’s license.
The KS DOR will NOT transfer an out-of-state instruction permit, even if you have attained it for more than 6 months. You must apply for a Kansas learner’s permit to receive your driver’s license in Kansas.
Applying for a Kansas Learner’s Permit
You must be at least 14 years old to apply for a learner’s permit in the state of Kansas. To apply for your KS learner’s permit, you need to visit your local KS DOR office and complete the following:
- If you are 14 or 15 years old, you must have approval from your parent or legal guardian
- Provide proof of your identity
- Show proof of your KS residency
- Pass the written permit test
- Pay the applicable fees:
- Permit fee: $10
- Photo fee: $8
- Testing fee: $3
You must attain your KS learner’s permit for 1 year.
Taking the Kansas Written Permit Test
The written permit test in Kansas is required to process your learner’s permit application. The KS written exam is a multiple-choice test that consists of 25 questions. You must answer 20 questions correctly to pass the test with a minimum passing score of 80%. The questions on this test are related to traffic laws and road signs in Kansas. The minimum age to apply to take the Kansas written permit test is 14.
If you submit a Driver’s Education Completion Certificate (Form DE-99) when you apply, the KS driver’s license bureau will waive the written test.
Kansas Learner’s Permit Restrictions
When you are operating a vehicle in the state of Kansas while attaining your KS learner’s permit, you must:
- Be supervised by a driver who is at least 21 years old
- NOT have anyone in the front passenger seat other than your driving supervisor
- NOT use a cell phone, except to report illegal activity or an emergency
Behind-the-Wheel Driving Requirements
After you’ve received your Kansas learner’s permit, you are ready for supervised behind-the-wheel practice. If you’re at least 15 years old, you are required to complete 25 hours of driving practice before proceeding to receive a restricted driver’s license.
Once you meet the Kansas behind-the-wheel requirement and attained your learner’s permit for 1 year, you will be eligible to apply for your intermediate restricted driver’s license.
Getting Your Kansas Restricted Driver’s License
You must meet the following requirements to be eligible for a restricted KS driver’s license:
- Be at least 15 years old
- Attain your KS learner’s permit for at least 1 year
- Have parental approval
- Have completed at least 25 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice
Kansas is one of many states that have adopted a Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) program. The GDL program requires teenagers to complete certain steps before obtaining their driver’s license. Many of the milestones that accompany the GDL program are age-related.
As stated above, there are age requirements to be eligible for different parts of the Kansas driver’s license process. The age requirements are as follows:
- 14 years old: eligible for an instruction permit/learner’s permit
- 15 years old: eligible for a restricted license/provisional license
- 16 years old: eligible for a less restricted license
- 17 years old: eligible for a non-restricted license
Driver’s Education in Kansas
Driver’s Education is ONLY required if you want to receive a restricted driver’s license. Driver’s Ed is not required to obtain your learner’s permit or unrestricted license. If you pass a state-approved Driver’s Ed course, you will be exempt from taking the written or driving exams. Driver’s Ed is ONLY available through school districts that have been approved by the Kansas Department of Education.
You are eligible to apply for your learner’s permit when you are 14 years old. To receive your Kansas instruction permit, you need to visit your local Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles (KS DMV) branch and:
- Have parental consent (if you are under 16 years old)
- Provide proof of identity and proof of Kansas residency (Applicants who are younger than 16 years old must have a parent or guardian present who has proper photo identification
- Pass the DMV written test (not required if you have passed a state-approved driver’s education course)
- Pass the Kansas vision test
- Pay the $20 fee for your license, plus $11 for your photo and testing fees.
Once you pass the Kansas DMV written test, you will receive your Kansas learner’s permit. With a learner’s permit, you can operate a motor vehicle, given that you adhere to the following restrictions:
- You must be accompanied in the front seat by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old
- No person, except the supervising driver, can be in the front seat
- NO texting or talking on a cell phone while driving, except to report illegal activity or to summon emergency help
After you have obtained your Kansas learner’s permit, you are required to complete at least 25 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel driving practice before you are eligible to apply for your restricted driver’s license. You must complete these driving hours with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and attains a valid driver’s license.
Kansas Provisional License
If you are at least 15 years old, attained your learner’s permit for 1 year, and completed at least 25 hours of supervised driving, you can obtain your provisional license. You must visit your local KS DMV office and:
- Provide your proper identity and residency documents
- Applicants who are younger than 16 must have a parent or guardian present who has photo identification
- Provide proof of passing a state-approved Driver’s Education course
- Log at least 25 hours on your 50-Hour Supervised Driving Affidavit (Form DE-1B01) and submit the form.
- Pass a vision test
- Pay the $20 license fee, plus the $11 for your photo and driving test fees
With your Kansas provisional license, you can operate a motor vehicle without supervision. You must still follow some age-related restrictions. If you are 16 years old, you are only allowed to drive:
- When you are accompanied by an adult who is at least 21 years old who has a valid driver’s license in the front seat
- On the most direct and accessible route between home and school for attendance
- To and from or in connection with any job, school, or farm-related work
During this driving phase:
- You must complete the remaining 25 hours of your required 50 hours of supervised driving, with 10 hours of night driving
- You can’t have any non-sibling passengers while driving
- You can’t use a cell phone to talk or text, UNLESS it is to report illegal activity or to receive emergency help
While you attain your restricted driver’s license, you are required to complete an additional 25 hours of driving, with 10 of the 50 hours driven at night.
Less Restricted Provisional License
After you turn 18 years old, some of the restrictions will be removed from your license. With a less restricted license, you are only permitted to operate a motor vehicle ONLY:
- Between 5 AM and 9 PM
- To and from work, school, or a farm-related purpose
- To and from a religious worship service held by a religious organization
During this phase:
- One non-sibling passenger under 18 years old is allowed
- You are forbidden from texting or talking on a cell phone while driving UNLESS it is an emergency
Kansas Unrestricted Driver’s License
When you are 17 years old and had your restricted license for 6 months, you will be eligible for an unrestricted driver’s license. To apply for a KS unrestricted driver’s license, you need to visit your local KS DMV office and:
- Provide proper identification
- Provide a completed 50-Hour Affidavit (Form DE-1B01)
- Pass the vision test
- Pass the driving test
- Pay the $20 licensing fee plus $11 for your photo and testing fees
Other Kansas Learner’s Permits and Driver’s Licenses
Teen Motorcycle and Moped Licenses
You can receive a motorcycle license if you’re at least 15 years old and have completed a motorcycle training course. You also:
- Must be accompanied by an adult who is at least 21 years old and has a valid Class M driver’s license
- Your supervising rider must be operating a motorcycle in the general proximity of the licensee
Any individual with a driver’s license can receive a moped license by providing proof of identity and passing the Kansas written test.
Kansas Farming Permits and Licenses
The state of Kansas offers specific licenses for teenagers that live and work on farms. If you’re between 14 and 17 years old, and you live or are employed on a farm (parcel of land that is larger than 20 acres used in agricultural operations), you need to visit your local KS DMV office and:
- Provide proper identification
- Have parental approval (if you’re under 16 years old, the application must be signed by your parent or guardian)
- Provide a completed Farm Affidavit (Form DE-IB01)
- Pass the written test (not required if you completed a Driver’s Ed class)
- Pass the road test (you are exempt if you completed a state-approved Driver’s Ed course)
- Pass the vision test
- Pay the $10 license fee, plus the $11 fee for photo and testing
Once you obtain your farm permit, you are eligible to drive under the following age-related conditions:
14 and 15 Years Old
- To and from any farm-related work
- To and from school (you must follow the most direct and accessible route)
- When accompanied by an adult who is at least 21 years old and has a valid driver’s license
While driving, you are NOT allowed to have any non-sibling passengers, and you can’t talk or text on a cell phone UNLESS it’s an emergency.
16 Years Old
During this time, you are allowed to drive:
- Between the hours of 5 AM and 9 PM
- To and from work
- To and from authorized school or religious activities
- ONLY when you’re accompanied in the front seat by an adult who is at least 21 years old who attains a valid driver’s license
The restrictions in this situation include the following:
- You can drive with ONLY 1 passenger who is outside your family who is under 18 years old
- You are forbidden from texting or talking on a cell phone while driving UNLESS it’s an emergency
Getting Your Driver’s License as a New Resident of Kansas
If you are a new resident of Kansas, welcome! Depending on if you have an out-of-state driver’s license, you may have some driving exams waived. If you have a valid driver’s license, your driving and written tests will be waived. If you have an expired driver’s license that expires less than 1 year ago, your driving test will be waived.
By Kansas law, you must transfer your out-of-state driver’s license within 90 days of establishing residency in Kansas. If your out-of-state driver’s license has expired for longer than 1 year, you must pass all exams, including vision, written, and driving. Be advised that you can’t have an out-of-state driver’s license that is revoked, suspended, or canceled in ANY state.
Kansas Non-Commercial Class Driver’s Licenses
Non-commercial driver’s licenses are for private use only. Your car is a great example of a private vehicle that can be used for non-commercial purposes. Some larger vehicles, such as farm equipment and RVs fall into the non-commercial vehicle category.
The Kansas DOR may require you to obtain a license or endorsement other than your regular Kansas driver’s license if you plan on operating:
- Heavy-weight vehicles
- Vehicles that are designed to carry a large number of people
- Vehicles that transport hazardous materials.
Who Needs a CDL in Kansas?
When you think of a CDL, you may think of cross-country truck drivers. However, some shuttle drivers and school bus drivers are required to obtain a CDL plus an endorsement. For more information, you can view the CDL manual by clicking here, or contacting the licensing exam station by calling (785) 296-3671.
Shuttles and Large Passenger Buses
To operate a bus that transports 16 or more passengers (including yourself as the driver), you must obtain a valid Kansas commercial driver’s license (CDL).
A KS CDL is a Class C commercial license that allows you to operate any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles that are either:
- Designed to transport 16 passengers or more
- Placarded for hazardous materials
You are also required to have all applicable endorsements, including the “P” endorsement that requires additional written exams and skills testing that allows you to transport passengers.
Married, Divorced, or Name Change?
You may have to provide a name change document in the state of Kansas if you’re applying for a new KS driver’s license or identification card. You may be required to submit a name change document(s), such as a marriage license, to be issued a REAL ID-compliant driver’s license or ID card in your true full name.
If the name on your identification document is different from the name you provided on your application, you must submit a document that establishes your true full name.
Examples of documents that establish your true full name can include the following:
- Adoption documents that contain the legal names as a result of the adoption
- A name change document that contains the legal name of both before and after the name change
- A marriage certificate
- A certificate, declaration, or registration document that verifies the formation of a domestic partnership
- A dissolution of marriage or domestic partnership document that contains the legal name as a result of the court action
Does the REAL ID Act Impact Residents of Kansas?
Starting May 3, 2023, individuals who are at least 18 years old will need a REAL ID-compliant driver’s license or another acceptable form of ID to fly within the US. In addition, a REAL ID will be required to enter federal facilities where identification is currently required for entry. Post offices, courts, and Social Security offices are exempt because they don’t require identification for entrance.
Is Obtaining a REAL ID Mandatory in Kansas?
The state of Kansas began issuing REAL ID credentials in August 2017. A REAL ID is NOT a required credential. However, having a REAL ID will help with the check-in process when you are flying or entering a federally protected facility.
You will not be required to have a REAL ID to do the following:
- Operate a motor vehicle
- Visit a hospital or receive life-saving services
- Enter a federal facility that does NOT require ID (such as a post office)
- Apply for or receive federal benefits (Social Security Administration (SSA), Veterans Affairs, etc.)
How Do You Prepare to Apply for a REAL ID Card?
There are different steps you are required to take to apply for a REAL ID card in the state of Kansas. To apply for a REAL ID in Kansas, you must take the following required documents to your local KS DOT/DMV branch:
- Proof of your lawful presence in the US
- State-issued birth certificate
- Unexpired US passport
- Unexpired permanent resident card
- Your unexpired employment authorization card
- Naturalization certificate
- Consular Report of Birth Abroad (FS-240)
- Proof of your Social Security Number
- Social security card
- Current W-2 or 1099 that shows your full Social Security Number
- Current pay stub that shows your full Social Security Number
- 2 Proofs of your current Kansas residential address (must be dated within the last year, and junk mail or personal letters are NOT accepted)
- Rent or lease agreement
- Renewal postcard
- Vehicle registration
- Utility bill
- Financial institution documents (such as a bank statement, deed, or mortgage)
- If your name is different from the above documents you provided (due to marriage, divorce, adoption, court-ordered name change, or is not the same on ALL of your documents, you are required to provide proof of your name change by providing:
- Legal adoption paperwork
- Any court-ordered or legal name change documentation
- Certified state-issued marriage certificate
- Court-ordered divorce decree
You can click here for a list of acceptable documents for a REAL ID in the state of Kansas. Be advised that the documents you present MUST be original or certified copies. Electronic documents ARE NOT accepted.
Applying for a Commercial Driver’s License in Kansas
When you are applying for a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in the state of Kansas, according to the FMCSA regulations, to be eligible for a KS CDL, you must be at least 18 years old and already have or be eligible to obtain a standard Kansas driver’s license.
If you are under the age of 21, you will ONLY be allowed to operate commercial vehicles intrastate, which means only in the state of Kansas. You will also be required to prove your US citizenship or lawful permanent residency. You can use documents, such as your birth certificate or certificate of naturalization as proof, but these requirements vary by state. You can contact your local KS DOR to address your questions or concerns regarding any paperwork they may require to prove your lawful permanent residency.
Commercial Learner’s Permit in Kansas
Before you are allowed to obtain your CDL in Kansas, you must earn your commercial learner’s permit (CLP). Completing a CDL education course can help with the learner’s permit process, but it is NOT required by the state of Kansas or the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA).
When you’re ready, you need to schedule an appointment with your local KS DOR branch and:
- Take documents that prove your:
- Social Security Number
- US citizenship or lawful permanent residency
- Take the appropriate medical documentation
- Take and pass a vision test
- Pass all written exams that are required for your class of CDL
- Agree to submit a driving record check
- Pay the $13 commercial learner’s permit fee (this fee includes photo and permit fees)
The KS DOR also requires you to bring 1 document that includes your photo. You may also use a non-photo ID IF it includes your full name AND your birth date.
Kansas CLP Restrictions
Having a commercial learner’s permit restricts you from doing certain things while on the road. You must attain your CLP for a certain time before you will be eligible to take the skills test to receive your full commercial driver’s license. Federally, the waiting period is at least 14 days, but your waiting time may be different. You can contact your local KS DOR for more specific details on the state-specific requirements for your Kansas CLP.
The FMCSA also requires all individuals with a CLP to operate commercial motor vehicles ONLY when a full CDL holder is with them in the vehicle and ONLY on public roads.
Getting a Kansas Commercial Driver’s License
Once you’ve had your CLP for the appropriate time, you are eligible to take the skills test to earn your full commercial driver’s license. You must schedule your skills test in advance with your local KS DOR. Make sure you give yourself enough time to complete the skills exam, which generally can take up to 1 ½ hours to complete.
The skills exam can include a:
- Pre-trip inspection
- Basic operating skills test
- Basic driving skills test
Make sure you bring:
- Your valid Kansas driver’s license
- Your commercial learner’s permit
- The $18 CDL fee, plus all applicable testing and photo fees
- A $10 fee for EACH endorsement you want to add (if applicable)
You must also arrange to complete the test in the same type of vehicle you plan on driving with your CDL, or a restriction may be placed on your license. Once you pass the exams and pay ALL applicable fees, you will be eligible to turn your CLP into a CDL. Congratulations!
Kansas Commercial Driver’s License Fees
The KS DOR charges the following fees for your commercial driver’s license and other aspects of the licensing process:
- Commercial learner’s permit: $13
- $5 permit fee
- $8 photo fee
- Commercial driver’s license: $41
- $8 photo fee
- $15 written exam fee
- $15 skills test fee
- $18 license fee
- Endorsements: $10 each
- Written exam retest fee: $1.50
- Skills exam retest fee: $10
- Replacement CDL: $16
These fees are subject to change, so make sure you double-check with your Kansas DOR office before scheduling your appointment.
Kansas CDL Medical Requirements
When you are applying for your CDL in the state of Kansas, you must be medically certified BEFORE you can schedule your first appointment with the KS DOR. Part of this process includes completing a Kansas Commercial Driver’s License Holder Medical Self-Certification (Form CDL MedCert 1).
You may also be required to complete different federal medical forms. Additional medical requirements vary by state. Contact your local KS DOR before you apply for your commercial learner’s permit.
Kansas CDL Endorsements and Restrictions
An endorsement is an additional certification you can receive that allows you to operate a greater number of vehicles, given that the vehicles fall under your CDL classification. You can obtain an endorsement from the Kansas DOR by completing extra written or skills tests and paying additional fees. Endorsements allow you to operate vehicles such as:
- School buses or passenger vehicles
- Double or triple trailers
- Tank vehicles
- HAZMAT vehicles
To operate a HAZMAT vehicle in the state of Kansas, you are required to complete a security threat assessment, that includes a criminal history check and an intelligence-related check.
You can also have a restriction placed on your CDL, which will limit the number of vehicles you can operate. You may receive a restriction if you:
- Can’t operate a full air brake system
- Take your CDL skill test in the wrong type of vehicle
- Can’t drive a manual transmission
You can have restrictions removed from your CDL if you complete additional tests, complete additional paperwork, and pay additional fees.
Federal Self-Certification Requirements
You must self-certify your type of vehicle operating with the KS DOR/DMV, which means you are required to self-certify one of the following driving categories:
- Non-excepted interstate
- Excepted interstate
- Non-excepted intrastate
- Excepted intrastate
Applying for a Kansas Motorcycle License
Are you ready to experience the open road in the state of Kansas? The KS DOR is responsible for handling all licensing throughout the state of Kansas, including motorcycle permits and endorsements. To ride your motorcycle in Kansas, you will need one of the following:
- Class M endorsement on a license (for motorcycle drivers who are at least 18 years old)
- Kansas Class M motorcycle permit
- Restriction or non-restricted Class M license (for minor drivers who are younger than 18 years old)
New Residents of Kansas
The state of Kansas requires individuals who are moving to the state of Kansas to obtain a license within 90 days of establishing residency. You establish residency in Kansas when you:
- Begin working in Kansas
- Enroll your children in a Kansas school
- Register to vote
- Buy or lease property
Transferring Your Out-of-State Motorcycle License
The Kansas DOR does NOT differentiate between the transfer of a standard driver’s license and the transfer of a motorcycle license or endorsement. To transfer your out-of-state motorcycle license, you are required to:
- Provide proof of your identity and Kansas residency
- Have a license that is in good standing (the license can’t be suspended, canceled, or revoked in ANY state)
- Pass the vision test
- Pay ALL applicable fees
- A new 6-year Class CM license: $18 (plus $12 for a Class M license)
- Photo fee: $8
- Exam fee: $3
You will be required to surrender your out-of-state ID or driver’s license. Other fees may apply.
Registering and Titling Your Out-of-State Motorcycle
If you bring a motorcycle to the state of Kansas, it must be titled and registered within 90 days of establishing residency, which must be completed whether you are physically in the state of Kansas or if the vehicle itself is in the state. You will need proof of a valid insurance policy to register your vehicle.
How to Get a Kansas Motorcycle Permit (Class M)
You must be at least 14 years old to apply for a motorcycle instruction permit in the state of Kansas. This motorcycle permit is valid for 1 year. If you are under 16 years old, your parent or guardian is required to sign your motorcycle permit application.
To receive a Kansas Class M instruction permit, you must visit a County Treasurer’s office and:
- Pass a vision screening
- Pass a written knowledge test
- Provide identification:
- Proof of identity and age
- Proof of residence and legal presence
Attaining a valid motorcycle permit allows you to ride a motorcycle at any time, as long as you have an adult motorcycle operator with a valid Class M endorsement accompanying you (riding in your proximity). There is a $2 permit fee and an additional $8 fee for the photo. You may be required to pay additional fees.
Less Restricted Class M License for Minor Drivers
Less restricted Class M licenses are available for drivers who are 16 years old and do not yet qualify for a non-restricted motorcycle license. A non-restricted motorcycle license is available to drivers who are at least 17 years old.
To receive a less restricted license, you are required to:
- Be 16 years old (not yet 17 years old)
- Have had an instruction permit for at least 1 year
- While attaining your motorcycle permit, you must have completed at least 50 hours of driving under adult supervision with a licensed adult who is at least 21 years old. 10 of the 50 hours must be driven at night.
- Pass both a written and driving skills test OR present a Certificate of Completion from an approved motorcycle driver’s education course. (These courses are generally based on the courses provided by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation). However, some courses may require additional classroom hours.
You must carry your restricted motorcycle license for at least 6 months and submit an affidavit that proves that all 50 hours of supervised driving have been completed to receive your non-restricted motorcycle license.
If the above-stated conditions are NOT met, the restrictions placed on your motorcycle license will remain until you turn 17 years old, OR you provide the affidavit, depending on which comes first.
Less Restricted License Driving Requirements
With a Kansas less restricted motorcycle license, you must adhere to the below restrictions:
- You may only operate a motorcycle to and from work, or authorized school activities
- You may only operate a motorcycle between the hours of 5 AM and 9 PM, or when you are accompanied by a licensed adult driver who is at least 21 years old (outside of designated hours)
- You may NOT carry more than one non-sibling passenger under 18 years old
- You are not allowed to use ANY wireless communication device while driving UNLESS it is an emergency.
How to Receive a Kansas Motorcycle Endorsement (Class M)
You must be at least 17 years old and have a valid Kansas driver’s license BEFORE applying for a motorcycle endorsement. To earn your Class M endorsement on your license, schedule an appointment at any Kansas driver’s license exam station and:
- Present proof of identity and Kansas residency
- Pass the knowledge test (you can download the Kansas Motorcycle Manual here)
- Pass the vision screening
You must either pass the on-cycle driving skills test or complete and pass a state-approved Motorcycle Driver’s Education course. The on-cycle driving skills test takes place in traffic or a controlled area off the street and is based on maneuvers that are discussed in the Kansas motorcycle manual.
The Motorcycle Driver’s Education courses are generally based on the Motorcycle Safety Foundation courses but may include additional mandatory hours/curriculum. If you complete and pass a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course, you will be exempt from taking the on-cycle skills test.
If you are 17 years old, you are required to submit a Teen Driving Experience Affidavit (Form DE-IB01) that you’ve completed 50 hours of supervised driving to receive your Kansas motorcycle license. This rule does NOT apply to applicants who are at least 18 years old.
Kansas Motorcycle License Fees
Class M fees are in addition to the standard Kansas license fees. The Class M endorsement fees are as follows:
- License for drivers who are under 21 years old: $20
- License valid for 4 years (drivers who are at least 65): $9
- License valid for 6 years (drivers who are at least 21, but under 65 years old): $12
An additional $8 photo fee and a $3 exam fee may apply.
Kansas Military Motorcycle License Exemptions
Kansas law states that by completing a Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) Driver’s Education course, military personnel is allowed to waive the written and driving exams that are generally required when obtaining a motorcycle license.
When you are applying for a motorcycle license using your completion certification, you will need your:
- Military ID
- Kansas driver’s license
- Completion of Certificate from an MSF motorcycle safety course (the MSF certificate of completion does NOT expire)
Renewing Your Kansas Motorcycle Endorsement
The Kansas DOR does NOT differentiate between standard license renewals and the renewal of a Class M endorsement. You can contact your local KS DOR branch for more information regarding renewing your Kansas motorcycle endorsement.
Kansas DOR Locations
There are different Kansas DOR locations throughout the state where you can obtain a KS driver’s license and handle vehicle-related transactions. Check out the list below to see if you can find a KS DOR location in your area.
Kansas Department of Revenue – Topeka Branch
915 SW Harrison St
Topeka, KS 66612
Monday – Friday (8 AM – 5 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (Closed)
Kansas Department of Revenue – Wichita Branch
1823 W 21st St N
Wichita, KS 67203
Call for business hours
Kansas Department of Revenue – Overland Park Branch
7600 W 119th St
Overland Park, KS 66210
Call for business hours
You did it! Congratulations. You now know how to obtain different types of Kansas driver’s licenses. Head to your local KS DOR and get everything you need for your vehicle.