What Do I Need for a Florida Title Transfer?

To transfer a vehicle title transfer in Florida, there are different steps you need to take. Vehicle title transfers are required when transferring the ownership rights of a vehicle from one person to another. You can initiate a vehicle title transfer through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV).

In most situations, you are required to transfer a vehicle’s title when selling or purchasing a vehicle. Vehicle title transfers are also required when a vehicle is received as a donation, gift, or as part of an inheritance.

Both the seller and purchaser of the vehicle are required to show paperwork. To successfully transfer a vehicle’s title, you need the following documents:

  • A completed vehicle title provided by the seller
  • An Application for Certificate of Title with/without Registration (Form 82040)
  • A notarized bill of sale (if required)
  • Lien release (if required)
  • Payment for all applicable fees

Make sure you have the required documents and payments to avoid delays and possible penalties.

Smog Certification/Vehicle Inspection in Florida

In the state of Florida, vehicles are required to endure a safety inspection once every year. Starting in the year 2000, Florida vehicle inspections do not include an emission’s inspection, also known as a “smog” inspection.

How to Transfer Your Vehicle Title in Florida

If you purchase a vehicle from a licensed dealer, they will take care of the title and registration paperwork for you. If you choose to transfer the title of your vehicle on your own, there are steps you need to follow with the Florida FLHSMV.

Private Sale Auto Title Transfers

You are required to transfer a vehicle’s title when you buy or sell a vehicle privately. To ensure your Florida vehicle title transfer goes smoothly, you need to be aware of the documents and other items that are required to complete this process.

Buying a Vehicle

When you purchase a vehicle from a private seller, the following items are required to complete your vehicle title transfer and registration:

  • A vehicle title with the transfer section completed by the seller.
  • The Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration (Form HSMV 82040)
    • If you have a leased or financed vehicle, fill out the form using your leasing or financing company’s name.
  • Proof of a valid FL car insurance policy, such as an insurance card
  • A completed Florida Insurance Affidavit (Form HSMV 83330)
  • A power of attorney (required if the vehicle is leased, and you need to sign the title on behalf of your leasing company)
  • Payment for the applicable vehicle title transfer fees:
    • $75.25 for an electronic title OR and, additional $2.50 for a paper title
    • $2 per lien if you have a lien on the vehicle
    • Registration and license plate fees are based on the weight of your vehicle

It’s a good idea for you and the vehicle owner to go to the FL tax collector’s office to avoid any mishaps or errors when completing the FL FLHSMV vehicle title transfer process.

Make sure the vehicle owner has a lien satisfaction document for any liens that are listed on the title. If the lien satisfaction document is not provided, you will be held responsible for liens once you own the vehicle.

It’s a good idea to obtain a bill of sale as proof of the vehicle’s purchase. The bill of sale can be notarized for additional verification.

Title Transfers for Individuals Who Are New to Florida

When you move to Florida from another state, you are required to get a Florida vehicle title and vehicle registration, including Florida license plates.

To successfully complete a vehicle title transfer in Florida, you need:

  • A completed Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration (Form HSMV 82040)
  • The vehicle’s out-of-state vehicle title to transfer
  • Proof of a valid FL auto insurance policy (insurance card, certificate of insurance, a completed Florida Insurance Affidavit (Form HSMV 83330)
  • Vehicle identification number (VIN) verification, which can be completed in person at your local Florida DHSMV office, or verified using a Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification (Form HSMV 82042).
  • Payment for all applicable FL vehicle title transfer and registration fees:
    • Out-of-state vehicle title transfer fee – $77.25 (electronic vehicle title)
    • Lien recording fee – $2
    • New resident vehicle fee – $225
    • Paper title mail/print fee – $2.50
    • Florida registration and plate fees vary according to the vehicle’s weight and license plate type

You can submit the required paperwork and fees to your county tax collector’s office by mail or in person. If you order a paper vehicle title, the title will be sent within 10 business days of applying.

Electronic Vehicle Title Transfers

If the vehicle you’re purchasing doesn’t have a paper title, the FL FLHSMV vehicle title transfer process will differ from a traditional vehicle title transfer. You have two options. You can apply for a duplicate/paper title and transfer the vehicle title in one transaction if you already have a buyer, or you can or a duplicate/paper title, then transfer the vehicle title when you have the vehicle’s title and a buyer.

If you’re the buyer, you can get the paper vehicle title and complete the FL FLHSMV title transfer simultaneously by:

  • Submitting a completed Application for Duplicate or Lost in Transit/Reassignment for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel Title Certificate (Form HSMV 82101).
  • Paying the $75.25 vehicle title transfer fee (electronic title)

You can submit the above-listed documentation and payment to your Florida county tax office in person or by mail if you’re outside the state.

If you’re the seller of a vehicle and want a copy of the vehicle’s title before you complete the FL vehicle title transfer, you are required to request a duplicate vehicle title. The fee for a paper vehicle title is an additional $2.50.

Once you request a duplicate vehicle title, you can complete the Florida vehicle title transfer when you obtain the replacement vehicle title.

NOTE: Some vehicle titling offices in Florida offer same-day vehicle title printing for an additional fee of $10.

Vehicle Title Transfer Requirements When Selling a Car in Florida

If you’re selling your vehicle privately in Florida, you are required to:

  • Complete the vehicle title transfer section of the vehicle’s title (if you don’t have a paper copy of the vehicle title, an electronic vehicle title transfer may be an option.
  • Provide the vehicle’s buyer with a bill of sale as proof of purchase. Make sure you keep a copy of the bill of sale for your records. You may want to consider having the bill of sale notarized to ensure its validity.
  • Provide a lien satisfaction document or a lien-free title if your vehicle had a lien.

In addition to the above-stated documentation, you can also choose to accompany the buyer of the vehicle to your local FL tax collector’s office to successfully complete the vehicle title transfer of ownership.

You can also submit a Notice of Sale and/or Bill of Sale for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home, Off-Highway Vehicle, or Vessel (Form HSMV 82050) to the Florida DHSMV to inform them that the vehicle is no longer registered in your name.

Providing notice of sale protects you from being on the receiving end of violations and other discrepancies the new owner of the vehicle commits while the FL FLHSMV is processing the vehicle title transfer.

How to Transfer a Car Title When the Owner is Deceased

The vehicle title transfer process is necessary when the owner passes away to allow the vehicle to be used by relatives or sold to a third party.

Joint owners, surviving spouses, and beneficiaries have the legal authority and obligation to transfer the vehicle’s title to someone else after the owner passes away. The way you will handle a vehicle title transfer in Florida depends on whether the vehicle is part of a probated estate.

Vehicles That Are Part of a Probated Estate

When a vehicle owner passes away, the steps of processing a vehicle title transfer depend on whether the vehicle is part of a probated estate. Another factor that is considered is whether the vehicle title was in the individual’s name as a descendant, or whether the vehicle’s title was joint ownership. If the vehicle’s title was solely in the descendant’s name, you need to determine if the estate is being probated.

If the vehicle is part of a probated estate, you are required to follow these steps to transfer the vehicle title of a deceased individual:

Contact Probate Court Attorney

A vehicle’s title isn’t eligible for transfer until the probate process is completed. It’s important for the executor or administrator of the deceased individual to contact Probate Court or an attorney as soon as possible and await further instructions.

Gather the Necessary Documents

You need all of the following documents to transfer the vehicle title of a deceased person:

  • Certificate of the title
  • Death certificate
  • Order from Probate Court to transfer the vehicle’s title
  • Odometer disclosure statement
  • Transfer fee

Visit the title office

Beneficiaries and administrators of the deceased person’s estate can visit the title office with the above-listed documents to initiate the Florida vehicle title transfer.

How to Transfer a Florida Vehicle Title Without Probate

To transfer a Florida vehicle title without probate, you need to make sure the deceased individual’s property doesn’t exceed a certain amount and a specific amount of time has to have passed since the individual passed away.

Joint owners, beneficiaries, spouses, and administrators may be able to provide the death certificate of the deceased individual and the vehicle title to the title office and have the vehicle’s title retitled. Since there is no probate involved, a court order or attorney is required.

Transferring a Title After a Lease Buyout

Once you pay off your vehicle, you will need these documents to transfer the vehicle’s title:

Proof of Ownership

You are required to submit the vehicle’s current title (the vehicle title that’s in the leasing company’s name and reassigned to the lessee or in the leasing company’s name, assigned to the lessee on dealer reassignment).

Application Form

The vehicle’s current title will suffice as your application form when you complete the section entitled “Application for Title and Registration”. Make sure you include your insurance information.

  • Bill of sale
  • Odometer disclosure statement (located on the back of the vehicle title)

How to Transfer Ownership of a Vehicle Without a Title in Florida?

It’s a good idea to gather the necessary documents before you list your vehicle for sale. If you are missing your vehicle’s title, apply for a duplicate Florida vehicle title (Form HSMV 82101).

If you neglect to file for the vehicle title and registration, and you don’t file a bill of sale, you can be held legally accountable for the actions with the vehicle, including violations, even if you no longer own the vehicle.

If you don’t initiate the vehicle title transfer, you can document the sale of your vehicle by obtaining the necessary information, such as the date, price, the buyer’s name, and your name. If you financed your vehicle, the vehicle title needs to include information regarding the lender or lien holder. In order for a vehicle sell to be legal in the state of Florida, the seller is required to transfer the vehicle title to the buyer in Florida.

Can I Gift a Car to a Family Member?

If you are gifting someone a vehicle in Florida, you need to transfer the vehicle’s title to the new owner as if you were selling the vehicle. If you have a lien on your vehicle, make sure the vehicle is paid off so, you can obtain the vehicle’s title from the bank or loan company.

Family members or other gift recipients are required to have an Insurance Affidavit (Form HSMV 83330). The completion of this form and having proof of insurance, such as a valid Florida auto insurance policy card, establish they carry auto insurance on the vehicle.

When you visit your local FL FLHSMV, make sure you have the following documents and items:

  • A copy of the completed vehicle title
  • Proof of a valid FL auto insurance policy
  • The vehicle’s registration card
  • Valid proof of identity
  • Payment for all applicable transfer fees

After you present the necessary documents and pay the necessary fees, the FL FLHSMV will issue a temporary vehicle registration to the new owner and send them the new vehicle title in the mail.

Once the vehicle’s title is transferred, it is the responsibility of the recipient to make sure the vehicle remains registered in their state of residence. The recipient of the vehicle should receive the vehicle’s title within two weeks after the title transfer is complete.

Transferring a Vehicle Title When You Have an Out-of-State Title

The vehicle title transferring process in Florida must be performed within 30 days of the date you established residency in Florida.

Motorists in Florida need to prepare essential documents to successfully complete the Florida vehicle title transfer, such as:

  • Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration (Form HSMV 82040)
  • Proof of identity of all vehicle owners, such as a valid Florida driver’s license or ID card
  • Proof of a valid FL auto insurance policy
  • Original out-of-state vehicle title
  • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) verification
  • Payment for all applicable fees and sales tax

Once you have taken these steps, finalize the vehicle title transfer process by visiting your local FL FLHSMV.

Requesting a Duplicate Vehicle Title in Florida

If you lose or damage your Florida vehicle title or the title is stolen, you need to apply for a duplicate Florida vehicle title. To replace a Florida vehicle title, follow these steps:

  • Complete an Application for Duplicate/Lost in Transit/Reassignment for a Motor Vehicle Title Certificate (Form HSMV 82101)
  • Provide valid proof of identity
  • Provide the odometer disclosure and all lien holder information (if applicable)
  • Pay the title fee of $75.25 (electronic title for previously FL registered vehicles)
  • Mail or return your documents to the Florida FLHSMV

Florida’s replacement vehicle titles are processed by county tax collectors.

Duplicate Vehicle Title Fees in Florida

The state of Florida has different title fees you need to know, such as:

  • New vehicles: $77.25 (electronic title)
  • Vehicles previously registered in Florida: $75.25 (electronic title)
  • Out-of-state vehicles: $77.25
  • Adding a lien to a vehicle title: $74.25
  • Printed paper title additional fee: $2.50
  • Expedited fast title additional fee: $10

If you’re requesting a duplicate Florida vehicle title, make sure you have the payment for the type of vehicle title you need.

Where Can I Go to Transfer a Vehicle Title in Florida?

There are two locations you can travel to transfer a Florida vehicle title.

Florida Department of Motor Vehicles
725 Flora Branch Blvd
Julington Creek, FL 32259
(904) 209-2250

Monday – Friday (8:30 AM to 5 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (Closed)

Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles – Clearwater Office
29399 US Highway 19N Ste 100
Clearwater, FL 33761
(727) 464-7777

Monday – Friday (8 AM to 5 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (Closed)

How to Fill Out the Florida Title and Title Transfer Forms

In order to successfully complete a Florida title and title transfer form, you need to make sure all the required forms are filled out completely. You need to create a bill of sale that discloses information about the vehicle, such as the make, year, model, and color of the vehicle. You also need to include the vehicle’s VIN.

If you sold the car instead of gifting it, make sure you add sales tax to the total vehicle’s price. An odometer reading needs to be provided in the “transfer of title by seller” section of the vehicle title. The recipient of the vehicle needs to sign the vehicle title in the provided spaces.

You may be required to provide additional documentation, such as proof of a valid FL auto insurance policy that meet or exceed the coverage limits specified by Florida state law. You also need a valid government-issued photo ID. A foreign passport will suffice as an acceptable proof of identification.

The last step in this process is to complete a Florida Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration (Form HSMV 82040). The recipient of the vehicle must sign the title, but it does not need to be notarized.

Once you complete these steps, you need to pay all applicable Florida vehicle title transfer fees. You can pay these fees by check or money order. You can expect to pay $70 to $80.

My Car Title Was Signed But Never Transferred. What Do I Do?

It is not uncommon for a vehicle’s title to be signed but never transferred. When a vehicle’s title is signed but not transferred, the seller of the vehicle didn’t transfer ownership or register the vehicle in their name.

A vehicle’s title that is not transferred is considered an open title. An open vehicle title means the seller of the vehicle does not possess any legal liability to the vehicle because their name is not on the title.

In the event the buyer loses the title, the vehicle title will be temporarily open. You can easily solve this problem by applying for a duplicate Florida vehicle title. The seller of the vehicle or the person who is listed on the vehicle is responsible for requesting a duplicate vehicle title, then signing it over to the buyer to put in their name.

Leave a Reply