Whether you are a new driver on California’s scenic highways or you’re just looking for a new insurance option that gives you everything you are looking for, car insurance is required in the state of California.

Every state has different laws regarding car insurance, so it’s important to know what to search for. Keep reading to learn more about how shopping for car insurance in California.

 Car Insurance Requirements

In order to be a legal driver in the state of California, you must be able to cover the costs associated with the damages and/or injuries that you may have caused if you were involved in a traffic accident. One of the easiest ways to make sure you have this covered is by getting liability insurance on your policy.

Here are the minimum amounts of liability insurance that are required on your policy:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage: $15,000 for each person and $30,000 for each accident.
  • Property damage liability coverage: $5,000 to coverage compromised property.
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $15,000 for each person and $30,000 for each accident.
  • Uninsured motorist property damage coverage: $3,500 minimum

Note that these amounts are only the minimum required amounts. Every driver will have a unique set of circumstances and can adjust their policy to make them feel as safe as possible.

Other Car Insurance Coverage

In California, it is required by law to have liability coverage on your insurance plan. This is the only coverage that is mandatory, but you still have plenty of options if you want to broaden the scope of your insurance policy. Here are some of the other types of coverages that are available to you:

  • Comprehensive coverage: If your car ever becomes impaired by causes other than a traffic accident, such as theft, vandalism, or bad weather, comprehensive coverage will take care of the damage.
  • Collision coverage: This type of insurance will cover the damage that occurs to your car as the result of an accident.
  • Medical and funeral services coverage
  • Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage: Some studies have shown that nearly 15% of California drivers are taking on the roads without being insured. If you were to get in an accident, and an uninsured driver was at fault, this type of coverage would take care of the damage.
  • Rental car coverage.
  • Towing and labor coverage.

Typically, collision and comprehensive coverage are optional. Keep in mind, however, that you will need to add these to your plan if you are planning on leasing a car or financing a loan form a dealer.

How To Save Money On Car Insurance In California

Responsible drivers should be rewarded. Fortunately, the state of California has a few different ways that you can get your premiums shaved down, as long as you meet the criteria. Here are a couple of ways you can save money on your insurance in California:

  • CA Good Driver Discount: You can potentially save up to 20% on car insurance by being a good California driver as long as you:
    • Have had a verifiable driver’s license and experience driving for at least three years; or
    • Have had a driver’s license anywhere in the United States or Canada for the past 18 months. Your driving experience must be verified
  • California Good Student Discount: Teens and young adult drivers deserve to be rewarded for their hard work. In California, you can get a break on your car insurance premiums if your teen or young adult driver has the all of the following:
    • No greater than eight years of driving experience.
    • Enrollment in high school, college, home study program or university as a full-time student.
    • At least a B grade average.

Check with your insurance company and see if you qualify for any of the discounts.

California Teen Driving Laws

The thought of your child getting behind the wheel of a car for the first time can be anxiety-provoking. This is why it’s important for your teen driver to be well aware of the laws before they think about getting on the road. Here is what your young driver should know before they get their license:

  • Once your teenager turns 15 ½, they will be eligible to take a verified driver training course in order to get a provisional permit.
  • They will need to have their provisional permit for at least 6 months. Once they turn 16, they can then apply for their driver’s license.
  • Eligible teen drivers will then need to pass a driving test administered by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) before they can get a provisional driver’s license.
  • Once your teen driver gets their provisional license, they are permitted to drive between the hours of 5:01 am and 10:59 pm, as long as their passengers are over the age of 21. Once their provisional phase is over, they are able to hit the road free of these restrictions.

Keep you and your teens safe on the road by picking the best insurance for everyone. Do your research and talk with different agents about rates and premiums.

Leave a Reply