Car insurance is most likely necessary no matter where you live, so you can imagine why it would be so important to have in an isolated, rocky climate like Alaska. Driving a vehicle in the largest state in the country is a lot different than it is in most other states.  Roads in Alaska only stretch so far, covering a very small chunk of the state. That being said, there are a lot of places in Alaska that simply can’t be reached by way of car.

However, for the drivers that do decide to take on the scenic roads of Alaska, they will need to have proper car insurance.

In order to drive legally in Alaska, you will need:

  • Proof of financial responsibility: This can be easily accomplished by buying car insurance and making sure to carry the AK car insurance card with you at all times when driving.
  • Registration: To drive on any of the major roadways in Alaska, you will need to have properly register your vehicle.

Note that there are some exceptions to car registration and insurance for drivers in Alaska. Some of those exceptions include:

  • There are parts of Alaska where registration isn’t a requirement.
  • In the parts of Alaska where registration isn’t a requirement, insurance is not required either.
  • Insurance will only be required in these areas if you are a driver who has gotten a traffic citation for a violation that is worth six points or higher.

Minimum Coverage Requirements in Alaska

When it comes to insurance limits, Alaska has some minimum requirements in order to be a legal driver. If you plan on hitting the road in The Last Frontier, here is a list of the minimum coverage limits you will need to have in your plan:

  • Property damage liability: $25,000
  • Bodily injury liability: $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.
  • Underinsured motorist property damage: $25,000

Teen Driving Laws in Alaska

Most teenagers dream of the day that they can sit behind the wheel of car for the first time. With teen drivers historically having the highest likelihood of being involved in an accident, every state has rules to try and mitigate this risk. These are the teen driving laws in Alaska:

  • Teens must be no younger than 14 years old in order to get a learner’s permit.
  • Teenage drivers must have their learner’s permit for no less than six months, while completing 40 hours of driving accompanied by a licensed driver before they are eligible to apply for a license. Ten of those hours need to occur at night and/or stormy weather.
  • Teen drivers will receive a provisional driver’s license until they turn 18. Provisional licenses keep teen drivers from:
    • Having passengers in the vehicle who are younger than 21 years old.
    • Driving between 1:00 AM and 5:00 AM, unless they are accompanied by a driver who is over the age of 21.

Once the driver turns 18, the rules associated with a provisional license are removed. Teen drivers usually cost more to insure, and the rates can actually get higher over time if the teen driver is violating the laws. If you have a teen driver in your household, make sure they are well aware of the laws and how to be a safe driver.

How To Register Your Vehicle In Alaska

Every Alaska vehicle must be registered unless there is a specified, lawful exemption. Drivers who are working in Alaska or establishing residency will have up to ten days to register their vehicle from the time they enter the state or accept a job in the state.

Non-residents can legally drive a vehicle in Alaska for up to 60 days as long as they have up-to-date registration from another state.

To get your car registered in Alaska, you will need to submit:

  • Your up-to-date registration from the previous state you lived.
  • The car’s title, but only if there is no lienholder.
  • An Inspections and Maintenance (I/M) certificate, if applicable.
  • An Application for Title & Registration.

You must register your vehicle with the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Most drivers will complete this process in person. You cannot register your vehicle online or over the phone, but you may be able to do so through the mail.

Registering An Alaska Vehicle By Mail

Because of Alaska’s vast terrain, it isn’t unusual for many Alaska residents to live significantly far away from an Alaska DMV office. For this reason, Alaska residents who live 50 miles or more from an Alaska DMV office are allowed to send their registration documents by mail.

To register your car by mail, you must submit:

  • A completed Application for Title & Registration (Form 812)
  • Your previous car registration.
  • Either one or both of the following (if it applies to you):
    • An odometer disclosure statement.
    • Lienholder information.
  • A vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection from a DMV-approved inspector.
  • Power of attorney, only if:
    • A party besides the owner of the car signed for the vehicle.
    • Your vehicle is a lease.
  • Payment for all the required registration fees.
  • Proof of ownership, which could be your:
    • Manufacturer’s certificate, if you bought your car from a dealer.
    • Signed title, if you bought your car from a private seller.

Making sure your car is registered and that you have the proper insurance coverage is one of the inevitable responsibilities of being a driver. Remember that all registered Alaska vehicles must be insured. Do your research before selecting a provider to buy insurance from so that you can get the most valuable insurance for your budget.

Leave a Reply